What a beautiful day we had at the  Draynes Farm Bobby Crily Classic today, promoted and organised by Phoenix CC, they even got us 24% Celcius during the race, and barbecued burgers and hot dogs after!! The race started at the place David Mc Call was killed by a careless driver 10 years ago, and we put the Belgian fleg for a moment on his memorial bike, just to thank his family and the David Mc Call Foundation for the support we had over all this year..we never will forget you David. 2 races on the menu with the A2-A3 & Juniors first of to tackle the 6 laps of the Phoenix GP and then turn to the hard road to the top of the Divis Mountain who looks over the Belfast area and an army look out during the troubles. From the gun 5 man got away and soon got 3 minutes + on the not to much chasing bunch to give a fair comment, some mild attacks to get a chase going didn’t succeed, so the break new it was between them to tackle the Divis, they already lost one rider during their escape and the writing was on the wall for young Jack Ferguson (Dromara’s 18 year old espoir) to get rid of his companions Drew Mc Kinley and Kevin Lynch from the Newry Wheelers team( both good vet class riders) and Mc Nally-Swords Ross Collins from Dublin. Jack showed that after his accident in the Tour of Ulster he is getting back to the form he had prior to the crash, and took the win in style. In the A4 race it was a 1-2 for the home club with Stuart Mc Caughey beating team mate Stuart Kerr at the top, for such hard race we even had a woman entry with Meta Johnston..ended very well and left a few man behind at the top. Photos from the media team including David Mc Veigh’s smashing pictures and results courtesy of the commissaires Jonny Beers and Mario Arranz    https://www.flickr.com/photos/thebelgianproject/albums/72157692025299300/

A2-A3 & Juniors results: courtesy of commissaire Jonny Beers

1. Jack Ferguson Dromara CC (first U/23)

2. Ross Collins McNally-Swords

3. Kevin Lynch Newry Wheelers

4. Michael Mc Glynn Omagh Wheelers (first junior)

5. Ethan Downey (Clann Eirann)

6. Drew Mc Kinley (Newry Wheelers)

7. Andrew Hicks (Newry Wheelers)

8. Nathan Keown (NDCC)

9. Alistair Robinson (Bann Wheelers)

10. Kevin Mc Cambridge (Mellow Velo) What an athlete this man is above..in his sixties and still compete with the young guns! respect Brian Hannon. A4 results courtesy of  our spanish commissaire Mario Arranz

1 Stuart McCaughey Phoenix CC
2 Stuart Kerr Phoenix CC
3 Michael Stack St Tiernan’s CC
4 Luke McMullan Scott Orwell CC
5 Kevin Keane St Tiernan’s CC
6 Robert Conn Phoenix CC
7 Brian Hannon Bambridge CC
8 Sean McGuire VC Glendale CC
9 Stanislav Baca Velo Club Balrothery
10 Andrew Kirk Phoenix CC

3 more inches Jack and the pain is over  Thank you to this park Ranger for letting us taking the media car to the top..appreciated  Only one woman in the race and one woman finished, Meta Johnston..well done xx