Talk about a change of weather, 4 weeks of summer sun and warmth and the first Criterium get hit by high winds and shitty rain (excuse my language) The border town of Strabane got the first sign of storm ” Hector” (actually my grand fathers name) and relentless rain came down on the few brave cyclists last night, the youth section had a good number of boys and girls present and showed us how skilled they are in such adverse conditions..they just want to race no matter what. The 2 main races had to run as one race due to the low entries and a handicap was established with the A4’s setting of first followed 40 seconds later by the A1-A2-A3’s and Juniors for a half an hour+3 laps race. The first group was caught within 13 minutes of the race and just before the sprint lap won by Marc Potts (Irish Crit Champ 2017) and repeated his sprint at the end of the race in his usual style winning with a small distance to second on the night PJ Doogan (Junior Caldwell Cycles) and Conor Halvey (Nicolas Roche Junior Team) 3th..they had lapped most of the riders except Caolem McCarter (Donegal Bay) in 4th and Mitchell McLaughlin in 5th. First A3 was Aaron Wiley (Omagh Wheelers) and first A4 was Clive Caldwell (BTT). A quick prize presentation was held underneath the Strabane-Lifford CC gazebo as the weather got worse and all want to go home as soon as possible.. Due to doing the MC job and the rain, only a limited number of photos but at least something to show for in such terrible weather. Thank you to the Strabane club for the donation to cover our expenses and very much appreciated, felt a bit sorry for them as they had put all the stops out to make this race safe and traffic free with the help of the local PSNI and low turn out tonight but understandable..also thanks to the sponsors involved to make this all possible. Results of the youth races below and my next appointment is this Saturday for the Tommy Givan Memorial races in Hillsborough County Down..till then taraa  Smiles all the  U16 Boys Winner Ciaran Dixon McConvey Cycles, 2nd Ciaran McGettigan Errigal CC, 3rd Odhran Doogan Powerhouse U16 Girls Winner Maria McAllister Island Wheelers, 2nd Katie Neil Can Wheelers, 3rd Sarah Elders Can Wheelers U14 boys Winner Neil Kelso East Tyrone CC, 2nd Adam McGeever AAA, 3rd Gary Kelly Four Masters CC. U14 Girls Winner Rachel White North Down CC, 2nd Katie McAuley Strabane Lifford CC U12 boysWinner Seth Dunwoody Orchard CC, 2nd Karl Rockett Ards CC, 3rd Ashton Moore Strabane Lifford CC U12 Girls Winner Zoe Lindsay Dromore CC U10 boys Winner Jamie Rockett Ards CC, 2nd Kyle Stevenson Strabane Lifford CC, 3rd Matthew Porter Strabane Lifford CC. U10 Girls Winner Eimhear Duddy Strabane Lifford CC, 2nd Poppy Hamilton Shimna Wheelers. U8 mixed Winner Eathan McHugh Four Masters, 2nd Sarah Craig Strabane Lifford CC, 3rd Emma Craig Strabane Lifford CC.