Foyle International 3 day – Stage 3 (Report courtesy of Foyle CC & Photos Sean Rowe & Results Alice Sherrat)As the bunch rolled through the city center before the official start its clear another great days racing was coming and it didn’t disappoint. After early attacks came to nothing and the bunch was strung out in one long line the fast pace final caused gaps and a large break of 17 riders went clear. This strong group soon worked well together and gained over 1 minute as the approached the first KOM’s. As soon as the leader hit the climb Caldwell cycles rider Darnell Moore attacked the leaders and gain a 15 second advantage and was un challenged for the maximum points at the top, but he didn’t just wait for the rest he pushed on over the top and the gap continued to grow. He soon had 1 minute and didn’t show any sign of slowing up the leader tired to close the gap but to no avail, Darnell was soon on the second KOM and again was opened more time over the top take the maximum points and increasing his lead to 1 minute 25 over the breakaway group. The bunch also picked up the pace and soon had caught the breakaway group and the increase in speed ment them began closing the gap to the lone leader.He was eventual caught as the bunch headed toward Plumbridge and the fast decent into the town before then went straight back up hill toward the cat 1 climb of the day. The long climb took its toll on the bunch with riders being dropped, and the splits forming at the front. A group of 3 riders had a slender gap as they approached the top of the Cat 1 climb, the 3 riders created the top with Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles) take the max points ahead of Aaron Doherty (NRPT). This would be a decisive moment in the race as these riders were joined by Dillion Corkery and the 3 riders puts on hard on the decent reach speeds of excess of 55mph. Once on the flat roads they worked well together and soon had a 1 minute gap on what was left of the bunch, within a few miles the gap was growing and soon it was 2 minutes with Dillion in the break and him only 2min 22sec behind Ronan McLaughlin in Yellow the GC was now in play and McLaughlin brought the full Viner-Caremark-Pactimo team to the front of bunch to save his yellow jersey. As the miles ticked by the gap remained at 2 minutes and the GC could go either way, McLaughlin’s team strung the main bunch out with riders being dropped unable to sustain the relentless pace being set in a bid to save the yellow jersey. With 10km to go the gap was still 2 minutes but the tide was about to change as the break started to suffer for the super strong efforts the gap slow began to fall a few seconds on each time check. But Mclaughlin could take the pressure off and him and the team kept the pace high, soon what was 40+ strong group was reduced to only 10 riders and they approached the final few km’s. At the front of the race the 3 leaders took the last right turn on the brutally steep climb of Church brae to the finish line, Dillion Corkery showed his super climbing ability and pushed clear of his fellow breakaway riders to claim an impressive stage win. Now the clock was ticking to the yellow jersey, but as the group came into sight the clock was going towards 1 minute and McLaughlin knew he had done enough to claim the overall win, crossing the line and falling from his bike in pure exhaustion. A fantastic weekends racing which was fittingly nail biting until the end saw Ronan McLaughlin win from Sean Moore in second and Dillion Corkery in Third. A fantastic weekends race! Foyle CC would like to thank everyone who made this event possible without so many people we wouldn’t have been able to put on such an entertaining and professional race. To Next Year….full results on this link For-full-results-stage-3-supplied-by-Foyle-CC-please-follow-this-link..docxFinal Stage: Derry-Church Brae (122km)

  1. Corkery, Dillion Team Gerald DHL 2h59’17”
  2. McAuley, Craig Team Caldwell Cycles @16″
  3. Doherty, Aaron NRPT @18″
  4. Ryan, Fintan The Sports Room Racin @58″
  5. McGlinchey, Christoph Mellow VeloBicycleCar
  6. Moore, Sean Team Gerald DHL
  7. Curley, Liam NRPT @01’02”
  8. Laughlin, Ronan Viner-Caremark-Pactim
  9. Sutcliffe, Cian Team Gerald DHL @01’06”
  10. McCambridge, Kevin Mellow VeloBicycleCar @01’10”                                                                                                       Final General Classification
    1. McLaughlin, Ronan Viner-Caremark-P 8h36’41”
    2. Moore, Sean Team Gerald DHL @01’14”
    3. Corkery, Dillion Team Gerald DHL @01’20”
    4. Smith, Luke Viner-Caremark-P @02’37”
    5. Hennebry, Conor Viner-Caremark-P @02’53”
    6. O’Connell, Eoin Four Masters CC @03’06”
    7. Moore, Darnell Team Caldwell Cy @03’14”
    8. McGlinchey, Christoph Mellow VeloBicyc @04’10”
    9. Curley, Liam NRPT @04’16”
    10. Shearer, Donal Phoenix CC @04’32”