The season is coming to an end in the Ulster road cycling calendar and one of the last chances to get points this year on the road..only the West Down Wheelers GP left on Saturday 29th September. Armagh City Cyclists had their first open race promoted and used it as a learning curve with only A4’s and Masters as entries allowed the first time. Due to the CX on the same time and day we couldn’t attend but been given all the info to make a wee report. All photo’s and report courtesy of Armagh City Cyclist Club which we are grateful for..thanks

This morning Armagh City Cyclists hosted their first open road race on the rolling circuit around the Battleford and Killylea road. Spectators were treated to some exciting and attacking racing from start to finish.
With Adam Skeet’s current run of results, all riders knew the wheel they had to follow if they wanted a shot at the win today. 
A small break of about 8 riders had established a gap of about 20 seconds off the front after the first lap, however only the strongest of these would be capable of holding off the chasing bunch. 
By the start of the final lap there was only Skeet and McArthur still out front and they had built their advantage up to around a minute on the bunch. As they headed onto the undulating Battleford road, Skeet put the pressure on and rode away from McArthur. Skeet came across the line solo, with minutes to spare on the bunch taking his second win in as many weeks moving him up to A3. He was followed by McArthur who comfortably took second place on the day and the M50 prize. 
Next to come through was the peloton where the expected bunch sprint ensued. Kevin Walker from Dromara CC had the best sprint legs on the day followed closely by Mark Dickson of Clogher Valley Wheelers.
The club was really pleased to have successfully run its first open road race which passed off safely and without incident. A big thanks to all the riders who took part as well as everyone within the club who helped out on the day with marshaling and catering.
Below is the full list of results:
1. Adam Skeet – Dave Kane Cycles
2. Kevin Walker – Dromara Cycling Club
3. Mark Dickson – Clogher Valley Wheelers
4. Donal Gallagher – Omagh Wheelers
5. Brendan Dunne – Cuchulainn Cycling Club
6. Aaron McCan – Cuchulainn Cycling Club
7. Paul Noble – Wexford Wheelers
8. Richie McBriade – Banbridge Cycling Club
Masters (M50)
1st unplaced – Paul McArthur – North Down Cycling Club
Armagh City Cyclists
1st unplaced – Alistair Verner