A report of Jessica Lamb, Cycling Ireland National Road Series Press Officer (added photos BP Media)

Run by the Cycling Ireland Road Commission, this year’s National Road Series points structure has been changed to increase competitiveness, and that new Team Classification added, with points in the competition adding up towards an overall prize of €300.
There will be seven rounds beginning in Carlow on March 31 with the 38th Des Hanlon Memorial Classic. Men’s and Women’s races will be run on the same courses for the second year, with Irish custom clothing company
Spin 11 providing Leaders’ Jerseys for both General Classifications.
During the series, the Road Commission will scout for its Men’s and Women’s teams for the
Kreiz Breizh Elites Road Races in Brittany. That’s the main target, but the Road Commission will also be selecting riders based on National Road Series performances for other races throughout the road racing season.

What Is The National Road Series?
Cycling Ireland’s National Road Series is a seven-race road racing league, open to Men with A1/A2 licenses and Women who hold full Competition Licenses.
Each race, held across the four provinces of Ireland, is a standalone, one-day road race, but National Road Series points are awarded to the first 20 riders across the line in the Men’s and Women’s Elite Race.
The points accumulate, with double points offered at the final round, and the riders with the most points at the top of the National Road Series General Classification after that race are crowned champion.
The series brings together some of Ireland’s finest one-day cycle races, encouraging riders to compete consistently throughout the season.
The aim of the National Road Series is to increase the standard of road racing in Ireland and to give domestic riders a chance to develop their potential
Last year Aine Donegan, a newcomer to road racing who won the Women’s National Road Series, made her Irish team debut at the KBE. The Men’s GC was won by former hurler Conor Hennebry from Waterford.

In 2019, the Cycling Ireland National Road Series takes in seven rounds from March to September, visiting all four provinces of Ireland.
National Road Series Race
Host Club
Mar 31
Des Hanlon Memorial Road Race
Carlow Road Cycling Club
Apr 14
Donal Crowley Memorial Road Race
Blarney Cycling Club
Jun 1
Red Hand Trophy
Ballymena Road Club
Jul 14
Mullingar Grand Prix
Lakeside Wheelers
Aug 10
John Beggs Memorial Road Race
Banbridge Cycling Club
Aug 31
Laragh Classic
St. Tiernan’s Cycling Club
Sep 22

The final round in Connacht has not been finalised, but will take place on September 22. A venue, route, and host club will be revealed in due course.

For 2019, the Cycling Ireland National Road Series will introduce a Team Classification, with €300 up for grabs to the winning team.
How Does It Work?
Points will be amassed on the first team riders in each category.
The team classification shall be calculated on the basis of the sum of the three highest placings in each round.
Where two or more teams have the same points, then the following criteria shall be applied in order until the teams are separated

(a) The sum of the places acquired by the three best-placed riders in the event.
(b) The placing of their best rider in the event.

National Road Series Points 2019
Points for the National Road Series General Classification are awarded down to 20th place in both Men’s and Women’s races. There has been a change to the format for 2019
The Cycling Ireland National Road Series awards equal prizes to the Men’s and Women’s series winners, with cash prizes handed down to 10th place