Attack after attack today during the 2019 edition of the WDW GP but with 2 laps to go from the 6 on the menu, Cathal Doyle (Powerhouse Sport) and Nathan Keown (NDCC) got some space between them and the 3 chasers who managed to leave the bunch behind, the strong Kevin Lynch (Newry Wheelers) and a lively Cathal Clark (Armagh Down) and one of the youngest juniors in the race Paul-Antoine Hagan (Banbridge CC) In the last lap who also had the Rathfriland Hill to be climbed, the 5 escapees came together and Kevin had to let the young ones go during the climb. They had a 45 second lead before the climb and going to the finishing straight who is slightly uphill the bunch had them back in view but they held on to sprint with 15 seconds to spare. Paul-Antoine surprised them all with a powerful head-on sprint and bolded over the line with a bike length to spare to Cathal Clarke (on his comeback year) and Cathal Doyle (Powerhouse Sport) who now have finished his exams and can concentrate back to his racing. The bunch sprint for 5th was won by routinier Chris Mc Cann (Inspired Cycling) who went on the big ring with an enormous uphill surge. Due to the cancellation of the A4, masters and ladies race ( lack of interest) the promoters WDW got all their attention focused on the main race and with 2 lead cars, and two motor marshals and the static marshals at the junctions we saw a very safe race, the ambulance had no patching up to do and that is already good news on his own!! After the race, we were welcomed in the Moneyslane GAA grounds (new headquarters for race day’s) with the usual feast of food and hot drinks, and no one had to go home hungry as you never are with the WDW promoters. Well done all.
Here a few photos of today, all other ones of today race can be found on
Result A2-A3 & Juniors
1. Paul-Antoine Hagan Banbridge CC (first-year junior)
2. Cathal Clarke Armagh-Down CC ( U/23) st.
3. Cathal Doyle Powerhouse Sport (second-year junior) st.
4. Nathan Keown NDCC (second-year junior) st.
5. Chris McCann Inspired Cycling (master) at 15 seconds
6. Philip Graham Unattached st.
7. Adam Thomas Skeet Dave Kane st.
8. Ian McClure Dave Kane (master) st.
9. Michael Green Phoenix CC st.
10. Gareth Kirkwood Madigan st.
Next for the media team is the NI Air Ambulance Cycling Festival in Kirkistown...entry open on the day
The girls who make me
First attack of the day
If there was a prize for combative rider of the day I would give it to Kevin Lynch
The one and only Billy Maxwell in charge of safety today
The A1’s had a training day preparing for the Red Hand next week and came to support the race
That’s all for now folks.