A race

The A race saw one of the biggest fields in recent times Arcane CT had 2 women in Nikki Taggart & Angela Hoare. Sundrive had 3 women Sofie Losher, Deborah Madden & Clair Ni Reachtagain. Dublin Wheelers were represented by Aideen Keenan & Cleo Harvey. Kate Earlie ( St Tiernans CC ) Katie Reilly (QSOrwell ) Fiona Guihen ( Black Rose ) Elia Tutty ( Dungarvan CC ) Emma Porter (UCD ) Becky Woods U/A Debbie – Lee Gaffney ( Cavan CC ) and Jennifer Bates. The race started later than usual as there had been a collision in the B race thankfully the riders involved escaped with minor injuries. The A’s were motoring from the off and were averaging 1min 45 seconds in the early laps but they brought some amazing times of 1min 39 seconds as the race neared the final 3 laps and hit a 1min 31 Lap which is amazing as there had been a shower of rain on lap 2 through to lap 4.Kate Earlie was on the front from the start but the workload was shared by many of the women including Jennifer Bates U/A who showed her strength on a with a few digs on the business end trying to go clear but pulled back. Aideen Keenan ( DWCC) put in a spirited attack trying one of her renowned moves but she was tracked by Black Rose Racer Fiona Guihen who closed her down. Sundrive with 3 riders I felt might ride a tactical race to upset the more renowned sprinters in the group but this never materialized and seemed happy to ride their race like most others in the field.

The returning Queen of Corkagh Park Nikki Taggart who won 5 races last season was well tucked in for most of the race, flanked and assisted by her ACT club mate Angela Hoare she got the better of her rivals approaching the home straight with a blistering attack from a hundred meters prior to the final turn, With the race well and truly in her grasp won she was able to have a peep over her shoulder halfway to the line and eased up winning well. Aideen Keenan ( DWCC ) took second place just ahead of Clair Ni Reachtagain in 3rd and Angela Hoare ( ACT ) taking 1st unplaced Master Prize. This contest was a great race and I expect many of these women will be winning in the near future. Cleo Harvey is at present a B racer but showed up well throughout this race with a bit more experience I expect her to be in the A’s. There are other women who shone throughout like Junior Woman Elia Tutty ( Dungarvan CC ) and Shannon Kelly U/A both willing to have a go at getting away from the bunch in the early part of the race. I look forward to seeing you all back racing next week and beyond, yours in sport, John hammer

A race result

First was Nikki Taggart (Arcane) Second Aideen Keenan (Dublin Wheelers) and 3rd Claire Nì Reachtagáin (Sundrive Track Team)
1st Unplaced Master Angela Hoare

B-Race (including youth)

The B race in Corkagh Park on Tuesday 28th July 2020 saw a huge field of competitors in the first group were the following racers Roisin Kennedy & Grace Irvine (ACT ) Emma Billane & Linda Griffin (Tallaght Wheelers) Amy Kinsella (TC Racing) Hannah Gibney (U/A) Clara Fitzsimons (LCRC) Aoife Hussey (U/A) Majella Rafferty (QS Orwell) Rachael Smyth (U/A ) Gabrielle Glodeyte (U/A) Sarah & Isabella Gaffney (DCC) Joanne Connor Aoife Mooney (Navan RC) It was the Junior Racer Amy Kinsella (TC RACIN ) who went straight into the lead and was leading by ten seconds from the ACT pair of Kennedy and Irvine Gabrielle Glodeynte completed the chasing trio. The leaders on the following lap were now a quartet and working well together the pace set had blown the group apart from Emma Billane (Tallaght Wheelers) narrowly missed getting across to the leaders and found herself in no-man land between the leaders and the rest of her group. The four leaders stuck to the task well. They lead for over half the contest before Irvine slipped out of the 4 leaders the now 3 leaders were eventually caught by the 2nd & 3rd groups. The third group had Clodagh Allen (Clonard CC) Julieann Byne ( LCRC) Helen White (Stamullen RC ) Siobhan Quain (U/A) Elizabeth Kent (ACT) Ciara Wilson (U/A) with 3 laps remaining 30 minutes of exciting racing passed we witnessed a collision which involved 3 riders two jumped up straight away. One woman remained on the ground for a while being attended to but she got up having been examined by Para Medics at the scene. The Race was stopped and anyone who had been part of the lead group at the time of the crash was given the option to race the final 3 laps, two which were neutralised and then the bell sounded for the Last Lap. The race was won by Emma Smith U16 ( Navan RC ) in the good style she sprinted up the home straight with confidence and never looked in danger. Second place went to Cleo Harvey (DWCC ) who continues to improve Third Place went to another rapidly-improving racer Elizabeth Kent (ACT ) who also seems destined for the A ‘s

I am somewhat disappointed that two racers who were not part of the lead group at the time of the crash raced in the 3 lap race. Had they placed in the prizes they would have been disqualified. Great racing from the B3 group who worked well together reducing the deficit on the other two groups it was great to see many riders in a line out. Lots of positives came out of the race and with a little more experience things will get easier. I witnessed Clara Fitzsimon ( LCRC ) mentoring a couple of underage racers which were great to see them learning how to hold the wheel during the race, Yours in Sport, John Hammer

B-race winners

1.Emma Smyth (Navan RC) 2.Cleo Harvey (Dublin Wheelers) 3. Elizabeth Kent (Arcane Cycling Club) First unplaced Junior: Amy Kinsella TC Racing Unplaced Master Helen White Stamullen

Next weeks entry online: https://eventmaster.ie/event/lY4SV8HPO…Thanks to Lorna Reilly and John Hammer for all their hard work