The M60-M50 race

The racing started at 9 am with the Masters M50 and M60 races. There were 17 riders in the M50 race and 7 riders in the M60s with both having to complete 5 laps with the M60s starting after a short time delay behind the M50s. In the M50s race, it was no surprise to see the national cyclo-cross champion Trevor Woods (All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team) taking the lead and holding it to the line. Chasing hard was John Doris (EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles) with Fearghal Regan (Kilcullen Cycling Club Murphy Geospacial) third. David Lawless (Team WORC) was fourth with Declan Hanrahan (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) fifth. As per Day 1, there were trophies for the top 5 finishers. In the M60s race, it was another national cyclo-cross champion, Johnny McCabe (Cuchulainn CC), who set off after the M50s and managed to finish third overall, first M60. Paul Birchall (Verge Sport PI Cycles) was second in the M60s with Christopher McCann (Banbridge CC) third, Eamon McConvey (McConvey Cycles) fourth and Raymond Beers (East Antrim CC) fifth.

Masters 60
1st MCCABE Johnny IRL Cuchulainn CC 41:43
2nd BIRCHALL Paul IRL Verge Sport/ PI Cycles 44:19
3rd MCCANN Christopher IRL Banbridge CC 44:50
4th MCCONVEY Eamon IRL McConvey Cycles 46:08
5th BEERS Raymond IRL East Antrim CC 48:06
6th MCCABE Declan IRL Cuchulainn CC 49:30
7th CLOGHER Tom IRL TC Racing -1 lap

Masters 50
1st WOODS Trevor IRL All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team 41:06
2nd DORIS John IRL EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 41:39
3rd REGAN Fearghal IRL Kilcullen Cycling Club Murphy Geospacial 42:24
4th LAWLESS David IRL Team WORC 42:38
5th HANRAHAN Declan IRL Panduit Carrick Wheelers 42:52
6th HEGARTY Dominick IRL IMBRC 43:01
7th QUINLAN Niall IRL EPIC MTB/Expert Cycles 43:55
8th COOPER Gary AUS CC 43:56
9th CORKERY Micheal IRL De Ronde Van Cork CC 44:55
10th RYAN Jerry IRL Upperchurch Drombane CC 46:05

At 10:30 the M40s took to the start line. The 26 riders had 6 laps to complete. There was some intense racing at the front of the bunch with Mark Pinfield (Blarney Cycling Club) taking the chequered flag. Patrick Clifford (Killarney Cycling Club) was second with Marcus Flavin (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) third. Completing the podium was Don Lapierre (Blarney Cycling Club) and Redmond O’Toole (Team WORC) who finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The Masters 40 race

Masters 40
1st. PINFIELD Mark IRL Blarney CC 48:16
2nd CLIFFORD Patrick IRL Killarney CC 48:37
3rd FLAVIN Marcus IRL Panduit Carrick Wheelers 48:46
4th LAPIERRE Don IRL Blarney CC 48:50
5th O’TOOLE Redmond IRL Team WORC 49:31
6th TROY Gerald IRL Burren CC 49:44
7th DEBARRA Tadhg IRL Comeragh CC 49:44
8th TRAVERS Jason IRL Dungarvan CC 49:44
9th O’BYRNE Colm IRL IVCA CC 49:50
10th HYNES Pj IRL Cuchulainn CC 50:33