Laura Wylie (Mc Convey Cycles) wins ladies race and junior Ciaran Dixon (Type 1 Junior Team GB) wins bunch sprint in style in the A3 race

Some big names in cycling gathered together in Maghera today for the popular Carn Wheelers Classic 2019. The sign on was held in the Link Community Center a spit away from the starting line just outside the South Derry town for the 4 races on the menu of the day. The A2’s send away first with a few minutes edge on the A1’s who consisted of some big names in our beloved sport such as Ronan Mc Laughlin ex-pro now with Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo, Christopher Mc Glinchey from the Vitus Pro P/B brothers UK team, Ryan Reilly (Dan Morrissey) now racing back in Ireland after a stint of racing in France the last few years, this to suit his studies and revelation of the year Gareth O’Neill from Newry Wheelers to mention a few. The handicap was put right in the 3rd. lap and attack after attack who came to nothing till the last lap when with 10 miles to go Gareth powered to the front and distance himself from his rivals, and time trialled to the finish line with just enough distance made to succeed. Christopher took second and Ryan 3th (Results below photo) Very happy to see Gareth winning today as it could not have gone to a better man. Gareth had entered the pool selection of the Belgian project thinking he was still an Under 23 rider but find out he became a senior elite when the season started and informed me immediately, this to not take a place away from the eligible ones when it comes to selection in June…such honesty I admire in a rider…karma does exist and a win as reward. Here below the results and some photos I took today. Finally thanking the Carn Wheelers and his members for the hospitality we all received with a feast of food after in the Link Community Center. Also a big thank you to the club for the donation received towards our bursary fund and let me promote my project in full. Carn Wheelers know their onions when it comes to safety as former promoters of the Tour of Ulster and the Irish Junior and A3 Champs and nothing was left to chance to make sure the riders had a safe passage through some small towns and country roads but in the end the riders have a responsibility to, many do I have to say but despite many warnings in the past, somehow the message of staying safe left of the white line at the rolling roads goes missing for a few…some riders have been taken out the A3 race by the comms after warnings at the starting line…maybe harsh in some riders views but it was a necessary move in my opinion as it could save lives (rant over)

Remember this people are there to make sure you have a safe race
Result A1-A2 Handicap race 115 km
1.Gareth O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC
2.Christopher Mc Glinchey Vitus Pro p/b Brothers UK
3.Ryan Reilly Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
4.Richard Meaney Westport Covey
5.Jody Wright Phoenix CC
6.Ronan McLaughlin Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
7.Michael McDonald McConvey Cycles
8.Brian Mitchell Harps CC
9.David McKnight TVR
10.John Buller Bioracer-DHL-FR services
11.Jack Fergusson McConvey Cycles
12.Edward Kearney Phoenix CC
13.Tony O’Doherty Carn Wheelers
14.John Morton Harps CC
15.Stephen Daly Termon Wheelers
16.Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers
17.Nigel Gibson Carn Wheelers

All result courtesy of Aidan Higgins (Carn Wheelers) and Chief timekeeper Ian Barfoot
Another Junior domination in the A3 Cats (all 3 scoring criteria points in the BP selection pool today)
Result A3 & Juniors 90 km
1.Ciaran Dixon Team Type 1 F/B Brothers UK
2.Nathan Keown North Down CC
3.Christopher Donald Team Madigan C.C.
4.Ryan Jamison Causeway CC
5.Christopher McCann Inspired Cycling
6.Brian McMorrow Yeats Country
7.Vinny Mort Dunloy CC
8.Keith O’Donnell Finn Wheelers
9.Dylan Traynor
10.Calum Orr North Down CC
11.Tomas Knapcock Clogher Valley
12.Barry McKenna Fintona CC
13.Barry Mullin Termon Wheelers
14.Ryan McErlean Carn Wheelers
15.Michael O’Kane Termon Wheelers

A4 race Result: 65 km
1.Darren Shiels Spires CC
2.Adrian Kane Bann Wheelers CC
3.Chris Kelly Lakeland CC
4.Fintan Sherry Emyvale CC
5.James Phillips West Down Wheelers
6.Luke Higgins Ballycastle CC
7.Mark Dickson Clogher Valley
8.Johnny McKaigue Carn Wheelers
9.Shane Mullin Termon Wheelers
10.Paul McMulkin Lakeland CC
11.John Diamond Carn Wheelers
12.Neil McCartan Dromore CC
13.Brian Kelly Four Masters CC
14.Neil McGeown East Tyrone CC
15.Rodney Young Carn Wheelers
Result ladies in the combined race with the Masters (46 km)
1.Laura Wylie (Mc Convey Cycles)
2.Louise Taylor (Carn Wheelers)
3.Sarah Elder (Carn Wheelers)
4.Patricia White (Spires CC)
5.Marcelle Gibson (Carn Wheelers)
Masters result (46 km):
1.Stephen Finnigan (Yeats Country)
2.Tom Henry (North Down CC)
3.Michael Russell (Four Masters)
4.Jim Bradley (Carn Wheelers)
5.William Convery (Termoneeny CC)
A big thank you to the “Emergency Medical Services LTD” and the PSNI Maghera
More photos on