The Peter Bidwell Memorial on Saturday 13 April
Photo’s courtesy of Damian Faulkner
Report and results: Gearóid Campbell Race Organiser
Photo courtesy of Damian Faulkner
Report and results: Gearóid Campbell Race organiser

Here are the results of the Peter Bidwell Memorial, promoted by Drogheda Wheelers CC. A very busy day for the club with 7 races earlier in the day over the opening two stages of Rás na nÓg and another 7 tomorrow with the last stage of Rás na nÓg and The Coombes Connor Memorial.
The Peter Bidwell Memorial remembers the dearly missed former chairman of our club and a founding figure of Rás na nÓg back in 2007. The competitors set off for 8 laps of the tough ‘Donore Circuit’ compromising 51km. Some early breaks looked promising but as the A1’s and A2’s caught up with the earlier groups, the race started to split. Out on the final lap, Sean Landers, managed to open a small gap from the bunch, holding it to the line with 10 seconds to spare over Paul O’Reilly with Lander’s teammate, Conor McKenna in third.

Winner Sean Landers (UCD)

Full ResultsPeter Bidwell Memorial (Saturday April 13th, 51km)

1st. Sean Landers (UCD)2nd. Paul O’Reilly (Dan Morrissey)3rd. Conor McKenna (UCD)4th. Craig Sweetman (Stamullen RC)5th. Tilt Talumaa (St. Tiernan’s CC)6th. Niall Craven (Drogheda Wheelers)7th. Liam Dolan (Cuchulainn CC)8th. Conor Murnane (UCD)
Unplaced A2’s: 1st. Des Smyth (Blanch Wheelies)2nd. Andrew Keogh (Lucan)3rd. Mitchell McLoughlin (Four Masters CC)
Unplaced A3’s: 1st. Eugene Murtagh (Lucan CRC)2nd. Fergus Crilly (Navan RC|)3rd. Larry McCabe (Newry Wheelers)
Unplaced Junior’s: 1st. Ryan Geraghty (Bikeworx)2nd. James McMorrow (Drogheda Wheelers)3rd. Sean Lenehan (Navan RC)
A4’s: 1st. Alan Reilly (Bohermeen)2nd. Ranunas Maskauskas (Bohermeen)3rd. Cliffy Hamilton (Newry Wheelers)
Unplaced Lady1st. Roisin McGivern (Newry Wheelers) 

“The Coombes Connor Memorial” on Sunday 14th April
Photo’s courtesy of Damian Faulkner
Report and results: Gearóid Campbell Race organiser

Here are the results of The Coombes Connor Memorial from today. This brings to a close a very busy weekend for myself and the entire club. 15 finishes over the last two days with two senior races and Rás na nÓg. 
Today’s race was made up of laps of a fast-paced 14km loop. A break of five went away early on before Greg Swinard joined them in the final lap. Paul Forristal of Scott Orwell Wheelers was the strongest of the six in the sprint taking victory on a bitterly cold day!
Coombes Connor MemorialA1/A2 Race – 126km (9 laps) 1st. Paul Forristal (Scott Orwell Wheelers)2nd. Conor Murnane (UCD)3rd. Dermot Trulock (Lucan CRC)4th. Sean Feeney (South Dublin CC)
5th. Anthony Walsh (Dan Morrissey)6th. Greg Swinard (Dan Morrissey)7th. Ronan Killeen (Lucan CRC)8th. Andrew Keogh (Lucan)
Unplaced A2’s1st. Niall Whelan (Laois CC)2nd. Darren Davitt (Slipstream)3rd. Paul Wilkinson (West Down Wheelers)4th. Lukas Furman (Kilcullen)5th. David Fielding (South Dublin Wheelers)
Unplaced A3 – 98km (7 laps)1st. Michael Green (Phoenix CC)2nd. Colm Bracken (Kilcullen) 3rd. Oisin Smith (Dublin Wheelers)4th. Ronan Kennedy (Banbridge CC)5th. Macdara O’Grannan (Velo Club Magasin)6th. Aidan Cunningham (Cuchulainn CC)7th. James McMorrow (Drogheda Wheelers)8th. Graham Thomas (Lucan CRC)
Unplaced Juniors 1st. Sean Lenehan (Navan RC)2nd. Ryan O’Hagan (Luca CRC)3rd. Aaron Rafferty (Bohermeen CC)
Unplaced Lady1st. Sofie Loscher (Sundrive Track Team)A4 Race 1st. Brendan Keogh (Galway Bay CC)2nd. Pat Willett (Swords CC)3rd. Alan Geraghty (Yellow Furze CC)4th. Daniel Lockley (Clontarf CC)5th. Morgan Byrne (Tullamore CTC)6th. Niall McCarthy (Swords CC)7th. Gavin Greene (Cuchulainn CC)8th. Dermot O’Rourke (Cuchulainn CC)