2020 UEC Road European Champion- Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA – NTT Pro Cycling) – photo Ilario Biondi/BettiniPhoto©2020

Five days, thirteen titles to chase by over 1000 athletes representing 39 countries. In September 2021, great cycling will have its home in Trentino and in particular on the city of Trento, where the new continental road cycling champions will be crowned. A great event that will see on the starting line the greatest athletes of world cycling, such as the two-time the Tour de France winner Tadej Pogačar, the new Olympic champion in the Team Pursuit Filippo Ganna, the three-time World Champion Peter Sagan and the 2019 European TT champion Remco Evenepoel.Not to be outdone by the women’s parterre, starting with defending road champion and gold medallist in the time trial in Tokyo, Annemiek Van Vleuten. There will be no shortage of emotions on the finish line in Piazza Duomo. A fertile soil for Italian cycling talents, Trentino and Trento are preparing for a new episode in their long-lasting bond with the two wheels. (full list of entries http://www.uec.ch/resources/2021%20Events/Road%20Trento/entry_30aug.pdf )

Photo courtesy of Alex Whitehead/SWpix/BettiniPhoto©2021

Team Ireland entries

ARMITAGE Megan 10106847706 Female IRELAND
HARKNESS Darcey 10016644776 Female IRELAND
MCDERMOTT Ellen 10011053334 Female IRELAND
O’ BRIEN Aoife 10017492518 Female IRELAND
O’ BRIEN Caoimhe 10017492417 Female IRELAND
O’ DONNELL Lucy 10017143116 Female IRELAND

BYRNE Ruairi 10016862624 Male IRELAND
CORKERY Dillon 10017025096 Male IRELAND
DEVINS Matthew 10016990138 Male IRELAND
GILSENAN Adam 10016639019 Male IRELAND
HARVEY Dean 10016653264 Male IRELAND
MC DUNPHY Conn 10089017082 Male IRELAND
MCCAMBRIDGE Kevin 10017341762 Male IRELAND
MULLEN Ryan 10008635408 Male IRELAND
O CONNOR Ronan 10017487363 Male IRELAND
RAFFERTY Darren 10017105831 Male IRELAND
SCULLY Conal 10017119268 Male IRELAND
SHORTT Devin Patrick 10015584143 Male IRELAND
TEGGART Matthew 10015342451 Male IRELAND
WADE Aaron 10017220514 Male IRELAND
WARD Adam 10017211824 Male IRELAND

Photo courtesy of Luca Bettini/BettiniPhoto©2018

On Sunday, September 12th, 2021, the Elite Men’s category will be called to close the program on a high, with a 179,2 km challenge starting from Trento and crossing the Valle dei Laghi, climbing on Monte Bondone from the Candriai slope before the final 13,2 km city circuit with the Povo climb, to be repeated eight times. Top riders such as the winner of the last two Tour de France, Tadej Pogacar, Tokyo 2020 time trial winner Primoz Roglic and talented Belgian Remco Evenepoel will have a chance to shake things off from distance. The elevation profile of the final circuit is not overly demanding, giving the edge – at least on cards – to strong all-rounders with a fast finish like three-time World Champion Peter Sagan, 2021 Ronde van Vlaanderen winner Kasper Asgreen, Slovenian Matej Mohoric, Norwegians Edvald Boasson-Hagen and Alexander Kristoff and Italians Sonny Colbrelli and Matteo Trentin.

photo courtesy of Luca Bettini/BettiniPhoto©2021