Ras Luimni 2022 report & results courtesy of Limerick CC, all photos Sean Rowe with thanks to both!

Three years on from its last edition, Ras Luimni made a return to the roads of County Limerick. The riders went to battle in classic early season conditions, but each of the three races was hard-fought throughout. The A1/2 field splintered swiftly, with a seven-strong break forging clear early on, eventually building a substantial lead over a peloton that dwindled with every lap. A series of attacks fractured the break over the last lap, with the reigning (2019!) champion Conor Hennebry (Morrissey / Pactimo) taking a thrilling two-up spring by less than half a wheel from Paul Kennedy (Burren), with Mark Shannon (Burren) taking third. The A3/J race also saw an early break, with five riders building a gap of a minute by the end of the first lap. There were numerous attempts to bridge, but eventual honours went to Damien Culhane (NCW) with a fine late solo that saw him hold off the remnants of the break by a few seconds. Niall McLoughlin (Westport) and Liam O’Brien (Fermoy) filled out the podium, while Ella Doherty (UCD) took the first lady. The A4 came down to a bunch finish, with Mario Gordillo Cortines (Kanturk) prevailing with a fine sprint. Eamon Kelly and Hugh McSwiney (both Blarney) were second and third, respectively, and Katy Harrison (Ossory CC) was the first lady home.
For the host club, powerful riding in the breaks from Paudie O’Sullivan (6th A1/2) and Bryan Nolan (6th A3/J) were rewarded with placings. Joe Donworth finished well up in the A4 sprint. Ronan Costelloe and Anthony Gahan policed the breaks from the A1/2 bunch, while Ross Higgins (A3) and Callum Winship (A4) were unlucky to puncture out of their races.

A1/2 Race
1st. Conor Hennebry, Team Dan Morrissey – Pactimo
2nd. Paul Kennedy, Burren Cycling Club
3rd. Mark Shannon, Burren Cycling Club
4th. Aaron Rafferty, Spin11 – Chain Reaction Racing Team
5th. James O’Sullivan, All Human / VeloRevolution Racing Team
6th. Padraig O’Sullivan, Limerick Cycling Club
7th. Cillian Murphy, Galway Bay CC
8th. Richard Meaney, Burren Cycling Club
9th. Richard Gribbons, Seven Springs CC Loughrea
10th. Jordan Luke, UCD Cycling Club

Note some riders could not be identified, so the results here are from riders with visible frame or back numbers.

A3 Race
1st. Damien Culhane Newcastle West Cycling Club 1
2nd. Niall McLoughlin, Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club
3rd. Liam O’Brien, Fermoy Cycling Club
4th. Lorcan Daly, Killarney Cycling Club
5th. David Culloty, All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team
6th. Bryan Nolan, Limerick Cycling Club
7th. Evaldas Stankevicius, Greenmount CA
8th. Patrick O’Loughlin, Panduit Carrick Wheelers
9th. Ainars Maskalans, Un-Attached Connacht
10th. David O Flaherty, Carlow RCC
1st Lady: Ella Doherty, UCD Cycling Club

A4 Race
1st. Mario Gordillo Cortines, O’Leary Stone Kanturk
2nd. Eamon Kelly, Blarney Cycling Club
3rd. Hugh McSwiney, Blarney Cycling Club
4th. Ewan Buckley, Killarney Cycling Club
5th. Mark Curran, Un-Attached Munster
6th. Richie Bourke, Greenmount CA
7th. Alex Casey, Un-Attached Munster
8th. Seamus Babington, Panduit Carrick Wheelers
1st Lady: Katy Harrison, Ossory CC

More photos of Sean Rowe can be seen on this link: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100070747975000

A huge thank you from Limerick Cycling Club to the marshals, the lead car drivers, moto marshals, the commissars, and the ambulance crews for their sterling work in keeping the races safe. And thanks to all the competitors for racing their socks off in some ‘fair hardy’ conditions. See y’all in 2023 (hopefully!).