After stage 1 huge gap appears with only 19 riders in contention for the pink jersey now as the bunch got more than 11 minutes deficit and lot of big names out of the game already.
Gamesmanship after a long windy day
Brilliant photos of Sharon Mc Farland on this link

Sorry for the lateness of this report as my back is playing up and I needed a lay down when arriving home from Banbridge. My job was announcing the proceedings before the race and put some tunes out to entertain the cavalcade before the start at the Banbridge Rugby Club car park, and the same at the finish line updating the waiting crowd. The race went off 12 noon and a tailwind saw the riders reaching the coast in Rostrevor in record time (first hour was over 30 miles an hour!!) About 20 riders went up the road and never been seen again by the bunch who give up chasing very early in the race and soon the time gap went over the 4 minutes and the bunch was sitting up and in the end a massive gap of 11 minutes been served. The race was upfront and 5 riders made some separation but never got more than 30 seconds to the other 14 who chased hard but to no avail in the end…A very misleading uphill finish saw the power of Track International star Fintan Ryan (Cycling Leinster) getting the better of Powerhouse Sports Lindsay Watson the man in form up North and English Upshift Velo’s James Jobber a very close 3rd. 2016 TOU winner Conor Hennebry (Dan Morrissey) who had been very dangerous all day was 4th and Matthew Clark (Foran) 5th. 14 seconds later Mark Dowling ( Cycling Leinster) won the sprint of the chasers. Tomorrow they have another day in the Mourne Mountains with the Spelga Climb as the biggest climb on Sunday’s menu. The KOH jersey is on Lindsay’s shoulders in the morning and with 7 climbs he will have his work cut out defending this wonderful-looking jersey made by his team sponsor and provider of all winning jersey’s “Powerhouse Sport” Tomorrow’s stage is 150km long and will we see maybe a rider who didn’t featured in the break today having a go as nothing else to win anymore apart from stage wins now for most of them who lost out today.

Lindsay on his way to another KOH win today
Photo Sharon Mc Farland
The Dutch team Westland Wil Vooruit ( what means Westland wants to move forward in English) had a man up the road and they seem happy enough keeping an eye at the front of the bunch.
Photo Sharon Mc Farland
Ex winner Mark Dowling doing some PR work before the start.
On the left of him Victus Energy boss Neil O’Brien (Main sponsor) Aaron Wallace (Banbridge CC) and Garry Nugent (Cycling Ireland and BGN sports management)
Photo BP Media
Some waffling on as per
Photo Sharon Mc Farland
Smiles all around
Photo BP Media
Result 1 st Stage:1 Ryan, Fintan Cycling Leinster 3h35m15s
2 Watson, Lindsay Powerhouse Sport 3h35m15s
3 Jobber, James Team Upshift Velo 3h35m15s
4 Hennebry, Conor Dan 3h35m15s
5 Clarke, Matthew Foran 3h35m15s
6 Dowling, Mark Cycling Leinster 3h35m33s @18s
7 Curry, James Dan 3h35m33s @ s/t
8 Shearer, Donal Phoenix CC 3h35m33s @ s/t
9 Watson, David The Bike House CC 3h35m38s @23s
10 Moore, Darnell Team Caldwell Cycles 3h35m38s @ s/t
11 Montgomery, David Banbridge Composite 3h35m38s @ s/t
12 O Neill, Gareth Newry Wheelers CC 3h35m39s @24s
13 Hahessy, Sean Dan 3h35m42s @27s
14 Wright, Jody Phoenix CC 3h35m42s @ s/t
15 McCann, Conor Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services 3h35m42s @ s/t
16 Murphy, JB Cycling Leinster 3h35m42s @ s/t
17 Nelck, Bram Westland Wil Vooruit 3h35m49s @34s
18 Buller, John Team Bioracer-DHL-FR Services 3h35m52s @37s
19 Curley, Liam STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team3h35m52s @ s/t
20 Bourne, Jonathan Pro Vision Race Team UK 3h46m39s @11m24s
The Motor Marshals
The motorised Paparazi with Stephen Mc Mahon
Photo BP Media
Some talent in this photo
Photo BP Media
The PSNI in full force today and very much needed as roads very busy this time of year
Full results courtesy of the Time Team ( Alicja, Gordon, Seamus and Ian)