The smooth roads of Monaghan presented us with a classy Grand prix
The winning break swiping all the prizes on offer

After a morning of youth racing, the roads just outside Monaghan Town had another feast of racing to witness with the senior races of the Emyvale GP. The A-race had a smaller field with about 20 A1’s, and a slightly bigger A2 entry who tried to defend their handicap of a couple of minutes but to no avail as after lap 1 this was rectified by the scratch group of A1’s. A little rest and 7 riders decided to go for it…yesterday’s Hilltown GP winner Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse)took 6 riders with him in the break and went “UP THE ROAD” with his teammate Xeno Young, Cathal Clark (Armagh Down) working at his come back year, Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles) Ryan Reilly (Dan Morrissey-Mig-Pactimo) Constantin Bartels (Waterford RC) and David Brody (Castlebar) and never be seen again by the small chasing bunch lead by newly A1 status Mitchell McLaughlin (Four masters) After a few laps the distance was to big to overcome and the prizes went to the lead group. A sprint to the line as a result with the Powerhouse boys doing what they do best…winning races!!

A1 /2 result
1st Xeno Young  Powerhouse. 
2nd Constantin Bartels Waterford. 
3rd Lindsay Watson Powerhouse. 
4th David Brody Castlebar.
5th Angus Fyffe Caldwell.
6th    Ryan Reilly  Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo. 
7th    Cathal Clarke Armagh/ Down (1st unplaced A2).
8th David Walsh Castlebar.
9th Mitchell McLaughlin Four Masters.
10th  Matthew McCullagh Sundrive.
Junior domination in the A3 race…what’s new?

A3 & Junior Results:
1st Ryan Geraghty Bikeworx.
2nd Nathan Keown North Down.
3rd Matthew Devins Yeats County.
4th Ciaran Cahoon Clann Eireann 
5th Christopher Donald Madigan.
6th Eugene Clarke Bann Valley.
7th Donal Walsh Four Masters. 
8th Fergus Callaghan Four Masters. 
9th Oisin Doherty Donegal Bay.
10th Johnny Kane Foyle CC. 
The sprint for second won by Nathan Keown (NDCC) with Matthew Devins (Yeats Country) 3th and winner of the A3 Hilltown Race Ciaran Cahoon in 4th
The A4 race

A4 Results
1st Ciaran Deery  Foyle CC. 
2nd Jonathan Devlin Dromore.
3rd Fintan Sherry Emyvale CC. 
4th Shane Mullan Termon Wheelers. 
5th Richard Gamble VC Iveagh. 
6th James Swift  Mayo Castlebar.
7th Michael Meehan  Cavan Kayak run. 
8th Martin O Reilly  DB Cycling Club. 
The Women’s race (CU and CI league)
Experience beats youth this time
The smiles who makes my work pleasant
More then 40 entries does make it worth for organisers to add such races to their event!!
Women’s Result:
1st Emma Desmond Lucan Rc.
2nd Clodagh Gallagher AAA.
3rd Lucy O Donnell Kanturk. 
4th Teresa  Parr Newry Wheelers. 
5th Ewa  Kuras Arcane CC.
6th Lynn Shields Spires. 
Yes I know..always more photo’s of the girls…but I am continental after all…lol
Last but not least the Masters Race as part of the CU Masters League

Masters (see their facebook page for full results later)
1st Sean McEvoy Newry Wheelers. 
2nd Glenn Cobai Madigan. 
3rd Jan Sweeney Newry Wheelers. 
The sprint of the day! Rival neighbours at their best >>John Rafferty Ards CC and the one and only Johnny Webb NDCC<<
A few random photos of the afternoon to finish this report. More on
The only open racing girl of Armagh-Down CC
Pre-race meeting with race organiser Thomas McCague (Emyvale CC and Ulster Cycling Chairman).I have to congratulate Tommy and Dara Mc Kenna and their army of volunteers and officials for such well organised race. The roads on the circuit as smooth as a baby’s bottom, a tough climb and winding rolling would be perfect for a National Championship …A thank you for the donation received yesterday…keeps the clock ticking so to speak and very much appreciated. See you all at the West Down Wheelers GP on Saturday and the Air Ambulance fundraiser races at the Kirkistown Racing Circuit (both Co-Down)
Its maybe not Belgian Cycling but it comes close!!!
The end