Feature photo and action photo’s courtesy of Toby Watson or otherwise indicated, results from the time team, with thanks

The women’s winning home team with from left to right Katharine Smyth (Irish Women’s Master Champ 2019) Laura Campbell and new Ulster Lady Champ Eileen Burns
(Photo BP Media)

The summer has arrived and from all places in Antrim, 27 degrees at one point and still have the sunburn to prove it! The beautiful village of Broughshane was the venue for start and finish with nearly full fields in the 3 races on the menu for the Ulster Provincial Champs. From the start in Broughshane, they went to the coast in Glenarm, to do some hard laps on the circuit of approx 14 miles and back to the finish after the last lap. For the first race, containing the M50, M60 and Elite women & Juniors it was 2 laps plus the distance back to Broughshane (Total 40 miles) and the medals decided in a dash to the line. A hard job for the timekeepers and judges as they had to separate the different cat’s in that sprint but no sweat for the time team of Ian Barfoot (photo finish) Alicja Cernak (Judge) and Gordon Parker (Chief Time Keeper) and some members of Ballymena RC. Here the podium results of that part of the race

Male Masters + 60
1. Brian Hannon Banbridge CC
2. Chris Wheeler Team Madigan
3. Colin McGready Cornerstone CC

(Photo BP Media)
Male Master 50
1. Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC
2. Alastair Robinson Bann Wheelers
3. Henry O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC
Team Winners
Newry Wheelers CC with Des Woods, Henry O’Neill, Martin Lynch (left)

(Photo BP Media)
Des Woods Newry Wheelers (Irish M50 champ) now also the Ulster Champ 2019
(Photo Toby)
Women’s Podium
1. Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club
2. Katharine Smyth Ballymena Road Club
3. Theresa Power Newry Wheelers CC
Team Winners
Ballymena Road Club: Eileen Burns, Katharine Smyth, Laura Campbell (left)
Women’s Masters M40 (no photo I am afraid)
1.Katharine Smyth Ballymena Road Club

2. Teresa Parr Newry Wheelers
3. Ciara Havern Newry Wheelers
Team Prize: Newry Wheelers
Teresa Parr, Ciara Havern and Caroline Wade

(Photo BP Media)
Ciara Kelly (North Pole Donegal) winning the Lady Junior prize
(Photo BP media)

Next race to finish was the M40’s and this was a County Down affair with Gareth Mc Cullough (Armagh Down) getting the better hand of Alan Bingham and Drew Mc Kinley of the Newry Wheelers. The sprint was a strange one, as they played cat and mouse with only 100 meters to go and Gareth got the better of Alan (Alan admitted that he judged the distance to the line wrong this time and was still gracious in defeat) Very pleased to see Drew taking the bronze, and with Kevin Lynch close by the Wheelers took the Team prize too…A club member from Ards CC (Ian Carson) asked me last week what is the secret of Newry Wheelers and their successes ?? Well, my answer was an easy one…Barry Monaghan as team coach and dedication of all the members of the border club as reasons.

Male Masters 40
Gareth McCullough Armagh Down CC
Alan Bingham Newry Wheelers CC
Drew McKinley Newry Wheelers CC
Team Winners
Newry Wheelers CC: Alan Bingham, Drew McKinley, Kevin Lynch

(Photo BP Media)
Gareth Mc Cullough outsmarting Alan Bingham this time
(Photo Toby)

The last race to finish was the Elite & Juniors and when I heard that 3 graduates of the project got clear of the rest on the race radio, I knew that my day couldn’t go wrong anymore. Being the commentator on the line I couldn’t hide my excitement, no matter who won it was a victory for the project too. James Curry (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo & graduate 2019) beating Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC & Graduate 2019) to second place with Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles & A graduate a few years ago) in a cm close 3rd as we had to wait for the photo finish to announce the result.

Elite Male Podium
1. James Curry Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
2. Donal Shearer Phoenix CC
3. Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles
Team Winners
Caldwell Cycles: Craig McAuley (podium left) Darnell Moore (left) Angus Fyffe (second left and also an ex graduate)

(Photo BP Media)

Finally, the junior podium of the same race which saw Chris Donald ( Team Madigan) beating the upcoming Foyle junior Sean óg Harrigan to second with Paul Antoine Hagan (Banbridge CC) in 3rd. Chris and Paul had been in my selection pool this year and just missed out of the selection, something that could be reversed next year if they keep it lit!

Junior Male Podium
1. Chris Donald Team Madigan
2. Sean óg Harrigan Foyle CC
3. Paul Antoine Hagan Banbridge CC

(Photo BP media)
A thank you to Chain Reaction for the pre-race technical check-ups and provider of the podium prizes
(photo BP Media)
A thank you to Ballymena RC for hosting the race and letting us providing the commentary. Also thanks for the donation towards our work…it keeps us and the 17-year-old workhorse on the road. Merci and till the next time in Ballymena hey
More photo’s of the BP Media can be found on the link below