Photos courtesy of John Coleman (Dungarvan) with thanks

Agnieszka Wozniak (Strata3-Velorevolution) victorious in her adopted hometown, Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) beaten on the line but scoring valuable points for the overall team prize
WOMEN’S RESULTS, CORK GP (rd 7 of the Irish National Series)
1. Agnieszka Wozniak (Strata3VeloRev)
2. Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC)
3. Katharine Smyth (Ballymena RC) Wins overall
4. Lucy O’ Donnell (Verge IRL)
5. Eve McCrystal (Strata3VeloRev)
6. Maura Claffey (UCD)
7. Yvonne Doran (Scott-Orwell Wheelers)
8. Laura Campbell (Ballymena RC)
9. Niamh O’Dwyer (TC Racing)
10. Nessa Rochford (De Ronde van Cork)
Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles) taken a suburb win while the other teams had a battle within the race to secure the overall win
MEN’S RESULTS CORK GP (rd 7 of the Irish National Series)
1. Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles)
2. James Davenport (Strata3VeloRev)
3. Charles Prendergast (Castlebar CC)
4. Andy Maguire (Bioracer-DHL-FR)
5. John Buller (Bioracer-DHL-FR)
6. Matthew Sparrow (Dan Morrissey/MIG/Pactimo)
7. Luke Smith (Bioracer-DHL-FR)
8. Gareth O’Neill (Newry Wheelers)
9. Jason Kenny (UCD)
10. Colm Sheahan (Blarney CC)

Overall winner Conor Hennebry (Dan Morrissey/MIG/Pactimo)
The Irish Master Champion 2019 Katharine Smyth (Ballymena RC) came 3rd on the day and took the overall winner jersey, congratulated by ex Irish Cycling president Miceal Concannon
Katharine was a close 3rd and leapfrogged the earlier GC leader Grace Young in the GC (Grace was injured) Katharine was very consistent in the past rounds and had built a platform to be in reach of the title…just bad luck for Grace this time and I wish her a speedy recovery. Double points in Cork made the race and the series, as it could have gone either way before the start of the final round. Her team also won the Team prize of € 300 and Catharine’s overall winner prize of 300 Euro!!
Eve Mc Crystal who won the Yorkshire International Para-Cycling GP the day before in England (Tandem pilot with Katie George Dunlevy in Harrogate) travelled back to Cork to help the ladies team of Strata3-Velorevolution defending their overall GC standings, it didn’t work out but hell they made sure they at least got the win on the day with Agnieszka
A very consisted and successful year 2019 for Conor and his team Dan-Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo who promoted the race in Cork and winning the Team Prize of €300 and the same amount GC winner prize as a bonus!!

CI reports >>> Conor Hennebry (Dan Morrissey/MIG/Pactimo) successfully defended his title as winner of the men’s series with the Waterford native holding off his nearest rivals James Curry (Dan Morrissey/MIG/Pactimo) and Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles) to take the overall win. Omagh man Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles) took the win on the day having broken away from a twenty man group on the final lap with James Davenport (Strata3VeloRev), before pipping the Dubliner in the sprint to win the Cork GP. Speaking after the finish, series winner Hennebry admitted he was more concerned about marking his rivals than the result on the day.“It was a strange race. It was quite negative tactics as there were a couple of guys like Darnell Moore who was close to me on points coming into the race. I was really only watching a few guys I knew were close to me in the overall series.”A delighted Hennebry says it was a major goal since the beginning of the season. “It was a big goal of mine coming into this year. A former teammate of mine Sean Lacey defended his title two years in a row and it shows that you can be consistent throughout the whole year. I’m done now for the season so I’ll take a good break before I start thinking about next year.” <<<

Wicklow gap rd 6 winner Maura Claffey (UCD) taking the corner ahead of Eve

Report CI >>> Katharine Smyth (Ballymena Road Club) continued her excellent season by becoming the 2019 National Road Series champion in Whitechurch, Cork. Agnieszka Wozniak (Strata3VeloRev) took the win at the Cork GP as she out-sprinted Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) in a two-up sprint to the line, with the pair having been away all day. However, it was Smyth who topped the overall points ranking after seven races.“It was an exciting one that’s for sure, said Smyth. “It started off quite slow as we had a headwind. Then about 10km into the race we had a crash which left me with a bent derailleur and I was stuck in the biggest gear for the rest of the race. I had my teammate Eileen (Burns) up the road in the breakaway and my intention was to get across but she was too strong.” Smyth is the current All-Ireland Masters champion and this result caps off an excellent year for the Ballymena Road Club rider.“It’s been a great year for me and I’m delighted to finish the year on a high so I’m really happy.” <<<