It was a family night of same-minded people, a night when we celebrate our youth, our volunteers, our unsung heroes and our federation. A great meal greeted us after the opening speech of the chairman Tommy McCague who welcomed us all, a minute silence in memory of friends and loved ones who departed us last year was next on the agenda, then followed by the MC of the night Martin Grimley explaining the order of the night. The youth was first on the agenda and presented by different well-known people of the sport in Ulster, I had the honour of presenting part of the underage winners with their medals and plaques, most kids I see each week at the races and so pleased to see them there with their proud parents getting their well-deserved accolade. Here a full list of the award winners in all cats and disciplines compiled by Martin Grimley (Off-Road Commission and compere)

Also, the grown-ups had their moment, with the “CU Volunteer of the Year award” going to James Harkin (Errigle CC Donegal) the man behind Europe’s biggest international youth 3-day in and around Letterkenny. James is seen here below getting his well-deserved Christal plaque handed over by Marian Lamb of the CU Executive.

Jack Watson MBE receiving from Chairman Tommy a presentation following his appointment to the position of Cycling Ulster Ambassador. 

Speaking following the event, Cycling Ulster Chair, Tommy McCague said: “The awards night is always a special occasion for our members and their families, particularly those who train hard all year round to achieve success in the competitive aspect of the sport. It also provides us with an opportunity to honour our volunteers, those members who work behind the scenes throughout the year for the benefit of the sport. There was a great attendance from across Ulster and I want to thank everyone for making the effort to join us. There was a lot of hard work put into organising the awards ceremony, thanks to Martin Grimley for his role as MC and for his help in preparing the event as well as Carmel Hunter, Carmel-Anne Hunter and Oliver Hunter and the staff at Armagh City Hotel. Finally, congratulations to all our award winners from 2019. We have another exciting year ahead and I look forward to seeing much more success for the province in 2020.” (reported from the CU website)

Club of the year 2019 presented to Ballymena RC Chairman Alastair Petticrew by Oliver Hunter (Treasurer CU)

Davy Ross (Team Madigan) above and Eamon Burns (Phoenix CC) below receiving the “Unsung Hero awards” from Julie Rea (CU and Phoenix CC) and Dylan Lyness (CU and Apollo CC)

Joan McCullough (above) receiving the Chairman’s Award for her massive contribution to our races as Race organiser of the International Tour of the North. Joan and her team of volunteers from the NICF federation took over the running of the event a few years ago and based in the Ballymena area. Joan also works as a highly qualified first aider in many of our events.

Very honoured to receive a Cycling Ulster bursary towards my beloved project, this from the hands of Tommy Lamb from CU, the ex- CU chairman has been supporting me with advice and encouragement since day 1 in 2008. (Photo above Bronagh Kirk, more photos of all other award winners by Bronagh, Official event photographer) on this link below ) with thanks