Report courtesy of Yari Alpizar international blogger and self confest MTB, Van life and beer lover. Results from Freewheelin…photos John Hammer or otherwise indicated…with thanks to you all

The eagerly anticipated Coillte Biking Blitz kicked off at a stormy Ballinastoe where Lee Harvey powered through for victory. The VC Glendale teen-ripper, now up into Elites for 2020, proved the rider to beat taking SuperPro Men to win over Garreth Davis ( with Harry Byrne (Expert Cycles) in third. Leah McCarthy comfortably topped the SuperPro Women category over Kerena Hanley. Michael Lee edged out Noel Harrington for the Baggy Shorts Men victory with Ciara O’Hagan topping the Baggy Shorts Women class. Dean Harvey ensured a reason for the Harvey family to stop for a celebratory MaccyDs on the way home as he charged to commanding Junior win in the one-lap race. With plenty left in the legs, he ventured out for another lap resulting in a time that would unofficially have put him inside the top-10 overall.

In the Women’s racing, Leah McCarthy (above) didn’t have many opponents so it was a battle against the clock and the elements. Some mechanicals here and there made the top-10 to be a bit more different than the usual, but this is not a surprise, anything can happen on a race.

Full results on

2020 Coillte Biking Blitz (Photo
Round 1 – 9th February, Ballinastoe, Wicklow
Round 2 – 23rd February, Ballyhoura, Limerick
Round 3 – 8th March, Derroura, Galway
Round 4 – 22nd March, Ticknock, Dublin
Round 5 – 5th April, Coolaney, Sligo
Round 6 – 19th April, Slieve Blooms, Offaly/Laois