A very Banbridge podium with 3 locals on the podium despite serious attempts to prevent them from doing so. The main race was a handicap race with the A3’s and Juniors set of first, a few minutes later the A2’s on the road and finally the big boys in the A* & A1 chasing the handicap. They managed to reach the front of the race about halfway and soon the main players start making the moves and 5 managed to get “up the road” such as John Buller (Banbridge CC), Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport), James Curry (Dan Morrissey), Gareth O’Neill (Caldwell Cycles) and Chris Mc Glinchey (Vitus Pro Cycling- Brother UK) chased by a few formidable riders such as Ronan Mc Laughlin, Ryan Reilly both from the Dan Morrissey-Mig.ie-Pactimo stable, behind them the pairing of Alan Bingham (Newry Wheelers) and Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC) The front was not to be caught again and John Buller made the crowd at the line going bonkers with winning in great style…Lindsay Watson (living in Banbridge too) had to be happy with a second-place and other local James Curry a very respectable 3rd place!!

The photo above from Sharon Mc Farland and more of her sublime photos can be seen on https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2836099643140539

The Travers Eng. Annaclone GP top 20 courtesy of the Time team Banbridge CC (A1-A2-A3 & Junior Handicap Race)

1. John Buller Banbridge CC
2. Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport
3. James Curry Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
4. Chris McGlinchey Vitus Pro Cycling – Brother UK
5. Gareth O’Neill Caldwell Cycles
6. Ryan Reilly Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
7. Ronan McLaughlin Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
8. Alan Bingham Newry Wheelers (First A2)
9. Donal Shearer Phoenix CC
10. Kevin McKinney Armagh City Cyclists
11. Des Woods Newry Wheelers
12. Barry McKenna Newry Wheelers
13. Nathan Keown Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo (First A3)
14. Shay Donley Dan Morrissey-MIG.ie-Pactimo
15. Jonathan Taylor Carn Wheelers
16. Odhran Doogan Team Caldwell Cycles (First Junior)
17. Aaron Wiley Team Caldwell Cycles
18 Kyle Wethers Dromore CC
19. Francis Donnelly Velocity RC
20. Andrew McCullough Ards CC

The A4 & Women’s Race top 20 result

Photo Sharon Mc Farland

1. Niall Murphy Lakeland CC
2. Michael Meehan CKR CC
3. Aaron Little Clogher Valley Wheelers
4. Jonathan Compston Shelbourne Orchard
5. John Berry Armagh City Cyclists
6. Jonathan Hayes Portadown CC
7. Gareth McCormick Lakeland CC
8. Paul Stamp Armagh Down CC
9. Gareth Dempsey Square Wheelers CC
10. Fergal Mulligan Armagh Down CC
11. Chris Wheeler Team Madigan
12. John Vallely Armagh City Cyclists
13. Nigel Foster Lakeland CC
14. Cliffy Hamilton Newry Wheelers
15. Gerard Farrell Clogher Valley Wheelers
16. John McCambridge Clann Eireann CC
17. Don Harte Armagh Down CC
18. John Ervine Cornerstone CC
19. Brian Roberts TVR
20. Fergus McGirr Lakeland CC
First Woman: Niamh McKiverigan Scott Quanta

The organisers can be very proud of themselves, the yellow brigade again top in what they do best, led by Aaron Wallace and his army of volunteers, a very experienced team in running open races in Co-Down…well done Banbridge CC, always love to be there (maybe the buffet after has something to do with it ..lol)…Next is the “George Rooney Phoenix GP” in Antrim tomorrow for us

More photo’s of the project on https://www.facebook.com/pg/thebelgianproject/photos/?tab=album&album_id=10157157847558691

Come back appearance of Shauna Mc Kiverigan (Dan Morrissey) here seen with her younger sis Niamh.