Report and results from John Hammer and Lorna Reilly (Corkagh Park Women’s Racing) Photos courtesy of Feargal Murray and John Hammer as indicated.

The B-race sees an attack of Grace Irvine (feature and photo above Feargal Murray)

The B race at Corkagh Park Women’s Racing Summer Series got racing underway last evening July 21! On arrival at Corkagh Park we were greeted by a nice warm sunny evening with a bit of a breeze. COVID Protocols were in place at the gate into the Race Circuit. The evening’s first race started with the B race which saw a larger than normal field 30 racers lined up for this event. as is our normal practice the race saw competitors divided into 3 groups the first group was for first-time women racers and Youth racers combined this group

One of Tom Clogher girls thinks is Cyclo (Photo John Hammer)

“The novice group was well up for racing and the group drove hard from the start the Arcane CC rider Elizabeth Kent was seen to good effect on the front early on driving the group she eventually pulled a few lengths clear and was joined by Aoife Reilly (U/A ) a few minutes later they worked well together but were only let dangle by the main field who were not more than ten seconds behind them. As the race progressed it became clear that the Scratch Quartet was not bridging the gap quick enough and an upset was on the cards with the dominant force in the novice group this group reeled in the two early escapees of Reilly and Kent as the race neared the end it was likely going to be a sprint for the line between 5 riders. The aforementioned pair of Kent and Reilly along with Rachel Smyth( U/A) Grainne Kelly( U/A )and the U/16 racer Charlotte ( Moore T C Racing ). On turning into the home straight for the finish of this fabulous race we saw Aoife Reilly leading narrowly from Grainne Kelly and Elizabeth Kent but as the line neared it was the other pair who surged to the front Rachel Smyth took to the outside passage to get the better of her 3 rivals while the U /16 Youth Racer Charlotte Moore took the advantage in the closing 5 yards from the line getting up by a narrow margin of half a wheel. Other youth racers and women took the eye with promising efforts and will most likely improve in the coming weeks Yours in Sport , John Hammer

Top 5 result B-Race 1. Charlotte Moore TC Racing 2. Rachel Smyth U/A Leinster 3. Grainne Kelly U/A Leinster 4. Aoife Reilly 5. Elizabeth Kent Arcane Cycling team. (photo John Hammer)
Caoimhe May leading and eventualy winning the race (Photo John Hammer)

The A race saw a field of 12 riders line up they included a Trio of Quanta Scott Orwell riders Caoimhe May ( Jun) Katie Reilly U16 and Beata Golczak. Aideen Keenan (DWCC) Aisling Barry ( Dunboyne ) Kate Earlie (St Tiernans CC ) Emma Porter ( UCD ) Fiona Guihen ( Black Rose CC ) Becky Woods U/A Debbie-Lee Gaffney ( Cavan CC ) Angela Hoare ( ARCANECC ) Sofie Losher ( Sundrive Track Team ) & Ciara Wilson ( U/A ) Our four Scratch B riders Vanessa Fenton ( Clontarf ) Clodagh Allen ( Clonard RC ) Julieann Byrne ( LCRC ) & Joanne White ( Drogheda Wheelers ) were willing to have another go and were given a 70-second head start over the A group. The 4 B riders worked well together each doing their bit to stay away from the A’s but they were fighting a losing battle as the A’s were rearing to go from the off and pent up energy of 3 months in lockdown was oozing through the bunch plenty of work-sharing was evident from the off. A few riders who were returning from more lengthy layoffs opted to ease themselves into action with one or two happy to take a bit of a tow from the others but in fairness, they didn’t engage in the sprint finish which was to their credit. Early on we saw the Junior Rider Caoimhe May putting big efforts on the front of the A ‘s also on the front for a few spells Sofie Losher and Debbie -Lee Gaffney was also seen taking a turn. The B’s advantage dropped to 40 seconds after 4 laps and the A’s were really driving on to close the diminishing gap on the following the gap was down to 26 seconds and from it tumbled rapidly until the B’s were caught a couple of laps later. To their credit, Julieann Byrne Vanessa Fenton and Clodagh Allen managed to join the A Train and stay with it for much of the remainder of this contest which was now heading for fever pitch. Clodagh came under pressure and called it a day the other two stayed with the A’s only with one lap to go did Fenton pull out leaving Julieann Byrne in the A group as the A’s turned into the finishing straight there was going to be only one winner the best sprinter on the night was Caoimhe May who got a length advantage and held it the line ahead of Emma Porter Aideen Keenan Angela Hoare and Sofie Losher. During this contest, we saw a couple of attacks from Kate Earlie which added a bit of spice to the race even if short-lived. There are lots of positives to take from this race the fact that only one rider was detached from the group early on we should enjoy some more great racing at Corkagh Park in the next 5 weeks. The Racing both the A’s and B’s was very exciting there was a great buzz around the Circuit with many spectators in attendance. 43 racers competed last evening a huge increase on last years numbers long may this trend continue, Yours in Sport , John Hammer

Podium A-race: 1.Caoimhe May Quanta Scott Orwell wheelers 2. Emma Potter UCD Cycling Club 3. Aideen Keenan Dublin Wheelers (photo Feargal Murray)