All photos Sean Rowe or otherwise indicated, results courtesy of CI with thanks to both

Elite Podium with from L/R Nicolas Roche silver, Ben Healy gold and Darragh O’Mahony bronze

The second part of Day 1 started in the early afternoon after been watered and fed by the Scanlons Bar Knockaderry owners, which did the trick for me, and a big thanks to Mary and Mike for their hospitality. The race exploded from the start and we witnessed the “Ben Healy show” who went “up the road” in the first of the 9 laps (17km) with Darnell Moore as a companion, both worked very well together, Darnell told the media later that it was easier to take the front on his turn than when Ben took charge, as he needed all his power to keep Ben’s wheel, and in the last few laps Darnell had to let go …the alarm bells went off for Nicolas Roche who was in the chasing group, and he went off in search of the leading Ben, to no avail as Ben was made aware of the move of Nico and he went even harder on the pedals, the difference in time increased in the last lap as Nico knew the kms running out to catch him, and had to be happy with the silver. Ben raced the last part of the race in a TT mood and came home nearly 2m30s ahead of Nicolas, and a bit later Darragh took the bronze as first of the chasers…Darnell had to be happy with 4th, he deserved better but hey that is racing for you. Ben Healey who took the fastest time in Thursday’s TT champs, but had to be happy with gold in the U23 section for his efforts, as not eligible for the Elite crown, had his day after all in the champs…The Ex Tour l’Avenir winner was over the moon and will race for at least a year in the green jersey of Ireland in the continental pro world.

A locomotive called Healy
The chasers tried hard to get the leaders back
Ben also the winner of the U23 title with a brilliant silver for ex-2019 graduate of the Belgian Project Kevin mc Cambridge and Ben Walsh bronze for his efforts
The National Team Champions Strata 3-VeloRevolution

Overall results of the Elite & U23 race (86 starters)

GOLD: Ben Healy Trinity Racing 3.37.15
SILVER: Nicolas Roche Team Sunweb 3.39.52
BRONZE: Darragh O Mahony SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 3.40.32
4 Darnell Moore Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK 3.41.54
5 Daire Feeley STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 3.41.55
6 Kevin Mc Cambridge Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling 3.42.09
7 Rory Townsend Canyon DHB p/b Soreen 3.43.59
8 Conn Mc Dunphy CC Nogent / Oise 3.44.03
9 Christopher Mc Glinchey Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK 3.45.05
10 Gareth O Neill Team Caldwell Cycles 3.45.06
11 Conor Murnane UCD Cycling Club 3.45.25
12 Marc Potts Team Caldwell Cycles 3.45.43
13 Paul Forristal STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 3.45.44
14 Ben Walsh EvoPro Racing @ st
15 Fintan Ryan @ st
16 Jack Bernard Murphy Arabay Team @st
17 Liam Curley South-East Road Club 3.45.45
18 Craig Mc Auley Team Caldwell Cycles @ st
19 Dermot Trulock Lucan Cycling Road Club 3.45.48
20 Cian Keogh Spellman-Dublin Port 3.45.56
21 Stephen Gillman O’Leary Stone Kanturk 3.46.29
22 Richard Maes STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 3.46.57
23 Cathir Doyle Powerhouse Sport 3.47.10
24 Richard Meaney Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 3.47.31
25 Jason Kenny UCD Cycling Club 3.47.37
26 Rhys Kenny UCD Cycling Club 3.47.39
27 Adam Stenson UC Monaco @ st
28 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport @ st
29 Luke Smith Antiga Casa Bellsolà Club Ciclista 3.47.49
30 Mitchell Mc Laughlin Zappi Racing Team @ st
31 Breandan Flannagan McConvey Cycles 3.47.58
32 John Buller Banbridge CC @ st
33 Angus Fyffe Team Caldwell Cycles @ st
34 Ryan Reilly Team Dan Morrissey – McCarthy Insurance Group – Pactimo @ st
35 Aaron Doherty Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 3.48.46
36 Colm Sheahan Blarney Cycling Club 3.51.20
37 Timothy O Regan Team WORC 3.53.13
38 Mark Quigley STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 3.54.05
39 Adam Ward Antiga Casa Bellsolà Club Ciclista @ st
40 Conor Kissane Killarney Cycling Club @ st
41 Conor Gallagher UCD Cycling Club @ st
42 Sean Landers UCD Cycling Club @ st
43 Cillian Murphy Galway Bay CC @ st
44 Sean Nolan EvoPro Racing @ st
45 Darragh Mc Carter Spellman-Dublin Port @ st
46 Mark Mc Kinley Newry Wheelers CC@ st
47 Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles @ st
48 Aaron Kearney EvoPro Racing 3.54.08
49 Leo Doyle TWC TEMPO Veldhoven 3.54.10

With thanks to Mary and Mike (Photos Dany BP Media)