Photos BP Media Team & Results courtesy of Bohermeen CC

The second weekend in a row we visited the County Meath and Navan area…and well worth the drive from the North (Newtownards) This time for the 2021 Waller Cup races in Bohermeen. I was told that this race exists since 1937 and is one of the oldest classic’s in Ireland. The weather would have made Spain jealous, 27 degrees Celcius and a wee breeze…The Leinster club Bohermeen CC knows what they are doing, the restriction carefully followed with waves of racing and a split to morning and afternoon racing. The morning started with underage races (Under 12-14-16) the A4 race, and the women’s only race, a big break to let them go home and to welcome the afternoon competitors for the A1-A2 race followed by the A3 & Junior Race. A big field near the start and finish as race headquarters was just perfect for keeping the cars away from the circuit. The Civil Defence provided the ambulance and road safety assistance. An army of marshals and volunteers from the local club’s made it very safe around. Here below are the results and some photos (more photos can be found on ) Well done Bohermeen CC…we will be back next year all going well!!

The Tara Steel A4 race

1st – Alan Lyne Dunboyne CC
2nd – Neil Wilkinson Velo Club Balrothey
3rd – Jack Lyne Dunboyne CC
4th – Gary Cullen Bohermeen CC
5th – Daniel Elstone Castlebar CC
6th – Thomas McGrath U/A
7th – Ronei Rodrigues Tullamore CTC
8th – James McEneaney 4 County CC

left: Alan Lyne the winner and his brother and teammate Jack Lyne 3rd from the Dunboyne CC

The Ladies McHugh Cup Race

1st – Carthach McCarthy Blarney CC
2nd – Caoimhe O’Brien Weston Homes-Torelli Assure
3rd – Erin Grace Creighton McConvey Cycles
4th – Darcy Harkness VC Glendale
5th – Caoimhe May Orwell Wheelers CC
6th – Sinead Malloy Tullamore CTC
7th – Cleo Harvey Dublin Wheelers
8th – Jennifer Bates Weston Homes Torelli Assure

Results of the Underage Waller Cup races 2021

U/16 Tossie & Nancy Casserly Memorial Cup Race
1st – Joseph Mullen Navan RC
2nd – Josh Callaly Navan RC
3rd – Adam Rafferty Island Wheelers
4th – Patrick O’Sullivan Orwell Wheelers CC
5th – Tadhg Killeen Orwell Wheelers CC
6th – David Harrington Orwell Wheelers CC
7th – Travis Harkness VC Glendale
8th – Oisin Collins Kilcullen CC
Unplaced Girls
1st – Katie Reilly Orwell Wheelers CC
2nd – Zoe Shakespeare Navan RC
U/14 Race
1st – Conor Murphy Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club
2nd – Oisin May Orwell Wheelers CC
3rd – Callum McCaffrey Cuchulainn CC
4th – Cillian Owens Bohermeen CC
5th – Niall Browne Drogheda Wheelers
6th – Davis Quinn Orwell Wheelers CC
7th – Fionn Killeen Orwell Wheelers CC
8th – Rhiannon Dolan Cuchulainn CC
Unplaced Girls
1st – Aine Reilly Orwell Wheelers CC
2nd – Aoibhinn Sharkey VG Glendale
3rd – Joanne Connor Drogheda Wheelers
U/12 Bernard, Eugene & Liam McLoughlin Memorial Cup Race
1st – Darragh Murphy Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club
2nd – James Cunningham Orwell Wheelers CC
3rd – Seamus Murphy Drogheda Wheelers
4th – Craig Ennis Bohermeen CC
5th – Conor Goss Cuchulainn CC
6th – Eoin Davis Bohermeen CC
7th – Charlie Fahy Navan RC
8th – Sean Masterson Navan RC
Unplaced Girls
1st – Poppy Hamilton TC Racing
2nd – Katie Turner Orwell Wheelers CC
3rd – Isabel Kirby Bohermeen CC

The A3/Junior Race (Afternoon)

An original Ford Mustang from the end of the sixties (1969 I think) A very rare car to be seen in Ireland

1st – Andrew Ryan Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
(1st Junior & Winner of the Jack McGlew Plate)
2nd – John Murray Navan Road Club
(1st A3 & Winner of Michael McGuire Memorial Trophy )
3rd – Niall McCarthy McNally Swords CC
4th – Declan O Carroll The Chain Gang Cycling Club
5th – Odhran Doogan Veloce Club Pontivyen (Caldwell Cycles)
6th – Stefan Caulfield Dreier Killarney Cycling Club
7th – Luke Cullen Panduit Carrick Wheelers
8th – Diarmuid O’Brien Collins Cycle Centre Race Team
1st Unplaced Junior: Ruairi Byrne Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
1st Unplaced A3: Ian Donnelly Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club

The A1/A2 Waller Cup Race

1st – Ronan Killeenn Lucan Cycling Road Club
2nd – Mark Dowling All Human/Velo Revolution Racing Team
3rd – Gareth O Neill Team Caldwell Cycles
4th – John Buller Amicale Cycliste Bisontine
5th – Matteo Cigala Team Dan Morrissey
6th – Darnell Moore Team Caldwell Cycles
7th – Tom Moriarty Tralee Manor West RC
(1st A2 and Winner of Thomas Tuite Memorial Cup)
8th – Ben Walsh Evopro Racing

Aaron Wade (Powerhouse Sport) worked so hard chasing the breakaway and ended up with a mechanical…he walked the last meters to the finish!!
Thank you to the main sponsor Cosgrove Electrical Servies…My companion and brother in law Jerome standing next to one off the masters of cycling photography Sean Rowe