Thanks to Brian Hammond (Cycling Leinster) for the results, Paul Joyce (MC) for the report, Caroline Kerley and Fran Hollywood for the photos (as indicated)

Well wishes to John Doris from us in the project (Photo Caroline Kerley)

Paul Joyce, the Master of Ceremonies and commentator of the race told his social media followers ” Should really start by congratulating all the Leinster title holders, but I’ll put that on hold momentarily. Podiums are put into perspective when we collectively remember that we are a community that spans all 4 provinces. One of our own, and one of the true greats of our sport, was all set for a podium, and a potential Leinster title, having led for the duration of the M50 category, only to succumb to a fall and a resulting horrific injury to close off a birthday weekend that will be remembered by the unfortunate John Doris. I would ask that you send your best wishes in the comment section to John, in return- the post will be forwarded to John and the Doris Family in a print /email. With John commanding the first 3 laps from Fearghal Regan, it was lap 4 that ended John’s race and the possibility of a sprint finish from the marauding and newly crowned Leinster Champion Fearghal. A season’s hard work paid off for the popular Kildare man. The M40s had more drama than incident, Ronan Flynn led from start to well….. almost …..finish…Remember 3 years ago in Cork when Ronan ran 90% of lap one with a puncture, then lightning struck on lap 2, another puncture another 90% to the pits, well fast forward to Bellurgan and a Leinster title within grasp only for a chain to deny any title in the Orwell man’s house, that title went to his next-door neighbor (ye couldn’t make this up). Colm McGarvey never gave up the ghost as he held off Kevin Keane (3rd), So congrats to Colm as Ronan carried the bike to a silver. The Roche sisters added to their impressive season’s tally, Steph took the senior title, as Annie claimed the junior title, Helen White took the masters ahead of Mary Dawson, one feels that Armagh could bring more rewards. The Elite race brought out the best in race favorite Sean Nolan, another master class from the Navan man as he secured Leinster, Davy Conroy showed glimpses of why he has a National title as he sat 2nd for 6 laps holding off the challenge of Niall Davis and Tim O Regan, Davy fell victim to a puncture on the last lap as the fast approaching Davis used all his mountain biking skills to claim silver, Davy Conroy ensured that Wicklow would have 2 representatives on the podium as he added the bronze to his collection. A massive shout out to Brian McCrystal and to his right arm aide Lorna Reilly, Brian is showing and providing how it should be done, Lorna gets it done, to John Hammer, Ronan, and to Leo for making the journey, remember we are one big family, and one of our members has joined Leah and Bingo on the get well list, Sunday wasn’t to be for John Doris, you don’t need a medal to be a Champion!!”

Results from yesterday’s Cycling Leinster Cyclocross Championships run by Bellurgan Wheelers in the McCrystals Cyclocross Track in Jenkinstown, Co Louth.

Senior Women
Gold: Stephanie Roche (Scott Quanta Racing) Silver: Niamh Stevens (Team Giant Dublin)
Bronze: Doireann Killeen (Orwell Wheelers CC)

Senior Men
Gold: Sean Nolan (EvoPro Racing)
Silver: Niall Davis (
Bronze: David Conroy (Scott Quanta Racing)

What a smile from Annie Roche (Photo Caroline Kerley)

Junior Women.
Gold: Annie Roche (Scott Quanta Racing)
Silver: Katie Reilly ((Orwell Wheelers CC)
Bronze: Emma Smith (Navan Road Club)

Junior Men.
Gold: Adam Gilsenan (Club Ciclistico Canturino)
Silver: Finn Harris (Bray Wheelers)
Bronze: Tadgh Killeen (Orwell Wheelers CC)

Masters Women.
Gold: Helen White (Stamullen RC)
Silver: Mary Dawson (Bray Wheelers)
Bronze: Laura Banfield (McNally Swords CC)

Masters Men M40
Gold: Colm McGarvey (Epic MTB/Expert Cycles)
Silver: Ronan O’Flynn (Orwell Wheelers CC)
Bronze: Kevin Keane (St Tiernans CC)

Masters Men M50
Gold: Fearghal Regan (Kilcullen CC Murphy Geospatial)
Silver: Gerard O’Donnell (IMBRC)
Bronze: Dominick Hegarty (IMBRC)

Masters Men M60
Gold: Johnny McCabe (Cuchulainn CC)
Silver: Declan McCabe (Cuchulainn CC)

Youth Female U16
Gold: Greta Lawless (Team WORC)
Silver: Mya Doocey (Navan Road Club)
Bronze: Faith Robinson (Bray Wheelers)

Youth Male U16
Gold: Joseph Mullen (Navan Road Club)
Silver: Oisin May (Scott Quanta Racing)
Bronze: Sean Tolan (Drogheda Wheelers)

Youth Female U14
Gold: Holly McCaffrey (Cuchulainn CC)
Silver: Edith Murray (Cuchulainn CC)
Bronze: Shannon Doyle (White River Wheelers CC)

Youth Male U14
Gold: Rian McCrystal (Bellurgan Wheelers)

Silver: Jack Woods (Carlow RCC)
Bronze: Darragh Byrne (Gorey Cycling Club)

Youth Female U12
Gold: Katie Turner (Orwell Wheelers CC)
Silver: Naoise Byrne (Carlow RCC)
Bronze: Eire McCrystal (Bellurgan Wheelers)

Photo Caroline Kerley

Youth Male U12
Gold: James Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers CC)
Silver: Eoin Davis (Bohermeen CC)
Bronze: Dáire O’Flaherty (Carlow RCC)

Non-Champion Support youth races

Photo Caroline Kerley

Youth Female U10
1st. Laoise Crinion (IMBRC)
2nd. Lilly McDermott (Un-Attached Leinster)
3rd. Alia Harris (Bray Wheelers)

Youth Male U10
1st. Jake Govan (Orwell Wheelers CC)
2nd. Jacob Robinson (Bray Wheelers)
3rd. Caden Byrne (Carlow RCC)
Youth Female U8
1st. Molly Turner (Orwell Wheelers CC)
2nd. Robyn McDermott (Un-Attached Leinster)
Youth Male U8
1st. Benjamin Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers CC)

2nd. Daniel O’Sullivan (Orwell Wheelers CC)
3rd. Cormac Murphy (Un-Attached Leinster)
Congrats to all the winners and competitors who took part, with less than a month to the Nationals it’s good to see riders coming into form. A big thank you to Bryan McCrystal for running the Championships, all the marshals, helpers, commissaire’s & parents. Chapeau!!! Regards, Brian Hammond (Cycling Leinster)

Making my daddy proud” my favourite photo of the event… (Photo Caroline Kerley)