Photos and reports courtesy of Wexford’s cycling paparazzi Sean Rowe, results from Bray Wheelers, with thanks to both

Dean Harvey, Spellman Dublin Port took a historic win in the 64th running of the Shay Elliott Memorial race when he took the victory from a small break on the “Shay” climb itself at Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow after an incident-packed day in the saddle. In the end, Harvey won by 24 seconds from Mark Dowling, All Human Velo Revolution with Caldwell Cycles Darnell Moore another 16 seconds back in 3rd. These three riders were part of a 6 man break that got away late in the day to come to the Glenmalure climb with the chance to take the win. At the finish, it was Harvey who had the legs to get the win. The other 3 riders in the break were J.B. Murphy, Evo Pro who came home in 4th, Gareth O’Neill, Caldwell Cycles who finished a fine 5th, and the ever consistent Ronan Killeen, LCRC who took 6th. Rounding out the top 10 were Eoin Kelly, UCD in 7th, Conor McCann, Inspired Cycles in 8th, Vladimir Euseev, All human-VeloRevolution 9th, and Fergus Keogh, Moynalty CC in 10th

The Shay Elliot Memorial 2022 (Top 10) 155km for A*-A1-A2, with 1800m elevation!!
1st. Dean Harvey Spellman-Dublin Port
2nd. Mark Dowling All human-VeloRevolution
3rd. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
4th. JB Murphy Evo Pro Racing
5th.Gareth O’Neill Caldwell Cycles
6th. Ronan Killeen Lucan CRC
7th. Eoin Kelly UCD Cycling Club
8th. Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
9th. Vladimir Euseev All human-VeloRevolution
10th. Fergus Keogh Moynalty CC

Sprint Prime at Ashford: Dean Harvey Spellman Dublin Port and the Glenmalure KOH prime to Nathan Mullan Dromara CC

Sam Bolger, Killarney CC took the win in the mini “Shay Elliott” the Ken Duff Memorial, Sunday on the famous Glenmalure climb in Wicklow, organised by Bray Wheelers. From the top of the KOM prime at Ballinaclash a small break developed of mainly Junior riders who had been contesting the prime. These included the eventual winner Sam Bolger, Sam Moloney, Greenmount, Adam Rafferty, US Colomiers, Con Scully, Carlow road Club, Jamie Moss, Ballymena Road Club, 2 riders from McNally Swords, Darragh Hartford, the only A3 rider in the original break and Tony McNally and 2 from Orwell Wheelers Ruairi Byrne. For most of the race their lead was no more than a minute. In the run to the bottom of the Glenmalure climb a couple of riders including eventual 9th place Matthieu Profitt, Dublin University made inroads into this small gap to make it into the fight for the placings. On the climb itsel,f the break began to split under the pressure of the eventual winner and it was left up to Sam Moloney and Ruairi Byrne to chase Sam home for the minor placings on the podium with Sam Moloney taking 2nd and Ruairi 3rd. Adam Rafferty finished 4th with Con Scully a brave 5th. Next came the 2 McNally Swords with Darragh Harford taking the club bragging rights in 6th and Tony McNally 7th. Jamie Moss, Ballymena finished a fine 8th with the first of the chasers Matthieu Profitt, Dublin University taking a fine 9th place.

A3 & Ladies top 8 off the Ken Duff Memorial (92km)
1st. Sam Bolger Killarney CC
2nd. Sam Moloney Greenmount CA
3rd. Ruairi Byrne Orwell Wheelers
4th. Adam Rafferty US Colomiers
5th. Con Scully Carlow Road CC
6th. Daragh Harford McNally Swords CC
7th. Tony McNally McNally Swords CC
8th. Jamie Moss Ballymena R

Special mention to 1st lady Linda Kelly, Spin the bean Coffee (photo above) who also finished 15th overall (only 2.30mins behind the winner), and 2nd lady Gabriele Glodenyte, UCD photo below (only 4mins behind the winner)

Stuart Carrick Bray Wheelers as first Bray Wheeler over the line