Results Gordon Parker and Ian Barfoot, compelled by Joann Lowry, all photos courtesy of our guest photographer Sharon Mc Farland, with thanks to all…

The ” Blair transport Red Hand Trophy” yesterday in Antrim attracted the best of Ulster, with also some big names coming from the South of the border and Donegal having a go at one of our classic races on offer here…decent prize money on offer in all 3 races, as it was the first time this classic race was held on a circuit (laps) and it worked out well…good numbers in all races, sunshine from start to finish, a nasty dragging climb each lap, fast descent to get to the finish straight…spectator-friendly and great banter at the finish area…Ballymena RC can be proud of themselves…they managed to pull it off…wins from local rider Andrew Todd (BRC) in the A4 race, his first open race ever! The first woman over the line was Gabriele Glodenyte UCD, the revelation of women’s racing this year!! Oisin Ferrity (first year junior from Island Wheelers) won the A3 race and took the Billy Kerr Memorial Trophy home, and a strong Caldwell Cycle team pulled all the strings out to get Gareth O’ Neill in the perfect position up-front to win, beating continental-pro Kevin Mc Cambridge (Trinity Pro-Racing) at the line..A great reception was held after at the Broughshane Community Hall (Head Quarters for the event) with the so missed sarnies, hot drinks, and plenty of cakes, and so appreciated by all involved!
. A big “thank you ” to BRC for the donation towards the project…I have a long-standing friendship with this club…and this will continue in the future, as you always feel welcome in Ballymena, regards, Dany B

A1/A2 Race
1st Gareth O’Neill Team Caldwell Cycles
2nd Kevin McCambridge Trinity Racing
3rd David Montgomery Spellman-Dublin Port
4th Paul-Antoine Hagan Banbridge CC
5th Luke Smith Moynulty CC
6th Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
7th Darnell Moore Team Caldwell Cycles
8th Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport
9th Odhran Doogan Team Caldwell Cycles
10th Alan Bingham Newry Wheelers CC
1st Unplaced A2: Keane Ryan Four Masters CC
1st Unplaced BRC – Shaun Carey

Billy Kerr Memorial Trophy (A3 Race & Juniors)
1st Oisin Ferrity Island Wheelers (Junior)
2nd Curtis Neill Carn Wheelers (Junior)
3rd Neil McKenna Ards CC
4th Darragh Doherty VC Glendale (Junior)
5th Jamie Moss Ballymena Road Club (Junior)
6th Adam Rafferty US-Colomiers (Junior)
7th Stephen Fitzsimmons Banbridge CC
8th Declan Rogers Glens CC
9th James Dane Velo Club Iveagh
10th Seamus McGovern Lakeland CC
1st Unplaced BRC: David Dickson

A4/Ladies/Masters Race
1st Andrew Todd Ballymena Road Club
2nd John Rafferty Un-attached Ulster
3rd David Henning Velo Club Iveagh
4th Philip Giles Ards CC
5th Gareth McGimpsey Phoenix CC
6th Jonathan McManus Dromore CC
7th Johnny Webb North Down CC
8th Ben Malone Velo Club Balrothery
9th David Moore Team Coffee Hut (1st Unplaced Master)
10th Gary Maguire Harps C
1st Gabriele Glodenyte UCD Cycling
2nd Darcey Harkness VC Glendale Youth Academy

Such talent is Gabriele Glodenyte, originally from Lithuania and now living in Ireland,
Thanks so much, Sharon for your contribution to our website…more photos of Sharon (and hundreds of them) on