Saturday 4th March

The Travers Eng. Annaclone will once again play host to the opening road race of the Irish cycle road race calendar for 2023 on Saturday 4th March. Often cited and used as an indicator of what riders have had a fruitful winter’s training in preparation for the race season, it once again proved to be the case in 2022. A2 rider Dean Harvey of Spellman Dublin Port put on an dominant display to win solo ahead of Team Caldwell Cycles duo Darnell Moore and Odhran Doogan. It was the first of numerous wins and impressive performances of the first year U23 rider, also taking victories in the Shay Elliott Memorial Rás Maigheo, as well as top 10 finishes on all stages at Rás Mumhan on the way to 4th overall and winner of the climbers’ classification in the Rás Tailteann. Harvey has since been rewarded with a professional contract with Trinity racing for the 2023 seasonThe 2023 event will follow in the same format as last year with 2 races being promoted by Banbridge CC on the day; a handicapped race catering for A1, A2 and A3 categories and a mass start A4 & Women’s support race. The ‘A’ race for A1, 2 & 3’s will be 6 laps of the traditional rolling circuit with a sporting handicap for a total race distance of approx. 50 miles / 80 km, with the winner being awarded the Eddie Sands Memorial Cup. The ‘B’ race for A4 men and A3/A4 women will cover 4 laps of the same course giving a total distance of approx. 32 miles / 51 km. In addition to the Eddie Sands Memorial Cup for the winner of the ‘A’ race, the winner of the ‘B’ race will be awarded the Travers Cup. The usual circuit starting from the Hawthorn Inn will be used, taking in Richies Bridge before a sharp left through Annaclone Village, Mays Corner and Katesbridge before returning to the Hawthorn Inn via the Ardbrin Rd. A details course profile can be found here. The entry system will remain open until 22:00 on 1st March!!! Please note this event will be strictly pre-entry only >> <<

The races are open to women and men + juniors and seniors. Registration for all 3 races will be via Cycling Ireland’s online registration facility Because of the narrow roads, there will be a limit of 80 competitors in each race. Online Registration will close when the quota is reached or on Thu 02-Mar-2023 – whichever happens first.

Sunday 5th March

Phoenix are promoting Races for all categories with:
Handicapped A4 / A3 race. – 55km – Start 10.00am
Separate Ladies Race. – 45 – Start 10.10am
Separate A1 Race. – 85 – Start 12.30pm
Separate A2 Race – 85 – Start 12.35pm

Online entry on
(Note separate A1’s and A2’s has maybe reduced to handicapped race if numbers do not permit separate races.) The course will be the traditional Phoenix GP circuit with the finish on Lylehill. See Strava route map below.

The Lacey Cup on Sunday 5th March

The 69th edition of the Lacey Cup hosted by Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club will be held on Sunday, March 5 th. As is customary, the Lacey Cup will be the grand opener to the Munster Road Racing season.
The challenging 75km circuit always lends itself to aggressive racing with cyclists eager to test
themselves and to show some good early season form. The race always draws a large field of riders,
with over 200 competing in recent years. Some of Ireland’s top riders will be in action on the day, all
intent on taking home the coveted Lacey Cup. Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club will also offer a
generous prize fund of €1200. To celebrate the Lacey Cup, Manor West Hotel are also offering a discounted accommodation rate!! For full details, call 066 7194500 and quote ‘Lacey Cup 2023’ to avail of offers.
Details and info of entry on

Sign on will be open from 10am, with all races starting at midday (12pm). The race categories will be as follows: A1 – 3 Laps & A2 – 3 Laps (Seperate race for A2 riders) & A3/Juniors – 2 Laps & A4 – 2 Laps & Women – 2 Laps (Separate race for women) We hope that you come along and enjoy the race that we put on. IF you have any questions then please get in touch with the club, through eventmaster, or our Facebook page. PLEASE NOTE THAT ENTRIES WILL CLOSE AT 3pm on the 4th MARCH 2023…more info and entry details on