Results and report courtesy of Martin Grimley, photos of David Mc Veigh & Jerome Mc Namara (podiums), and all action photos on

A wee chat with a stage winner of the Ras in 1958…Seamus Devlin (Island Wheelers) is Well in his eighties and still cycling…Seamus told me that after the Rass finished in Dublin they just cycled home (over 150km!!) Now how harder can you get!!
Following daddy’s steps.

It was a welcome return to Windmill Park in Dungannon for Round 5 of the Ulster Cyclo-cross Series. This was host club Island Wheelers’s 8th year at this venue and they continue to improve the course and set up. The park itself has also continued to improve benefitting from greater input from the local council. The racecourse was modified from last time with some new, very fast sections added. Race day was overcast but stayed dry and warm around 14 degrees. The start and finish were on the wide grass area (indicated by tall flags) with the sign on, podium, and coffee van just inside the trees. Race commentary was supplied by Dany Blondeel from The Belgian Project.

Under 8 girls podium

Racing started at 10 am with the Under 6s. The riders had to race between the flags, a twisting course from one side of the grass area to the other. There were 9 riders in this race, 4 boys and 5 girls.
At 10:15 the Under 8s got underway. They used the same course as the Under 6s but had 4 laps to complete. Elijah McClintock (Lisburn BMX Club) went from third place in laps 1 to 3 to take the win in lap 4. His first of the season. Conor McGahan (Square Wheels) finished second with Noah Mitchell (Square Wheels) third. Ruby Millar (Square Wheels) got her 5th win out of 5 events in the girls’ race when she finished ahead of Sophia Campbell (Phoenix CC) and Eabha Connolly (Square Wheels).

Under 8 boys podium
Under 10 boys podium

The Under 10s lined up next for 4 laps of their course which was an extended version of the Under 8s course heading off into the trees. Daragh Quigley (Foyle CC) and his 5th win out of 5 races in the boys’ race. Jack McGahan (Square Wheels) was second with Samuel Curran (Square Wheels) completing the podium. Aoife Campbell (Square Wheels) also completed her 5th from 5 when she took the win in the girls’ race. Abbie Kinning (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club) was on the podium again this time in second place with Cassie Rocks (Island Wheelers) finishing third in her first appearance in the series this year.

Under 10 girls podium
Under 12 boys podium

The Under 12s course was longer again and the riders had 4 laps to complete. Josh McClune (Team Madigan C.C.) got his 4th win of the series with Eunan Campbell (Square Wheels) and Darragh Murphy (Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club) finishing second and third respectively in the boys’ race. Aoife Craig (VC Glendale) took the chequered flag in the girls’ race, her 4th win of the series, with series leader Clodagh Quigley (Foyle CC) finishing second and Aoife Kellett (Dromara Cycling Club) taking the bronze medal

U12 girls podium
Under 14 girls podium

The Under 14s, Under 16s and Women, then lined up to compete on the full course. The Under 14s and Under 16s had 4 laps to complete with the Women facing 5 laps. Curtis McKee (VC Glendale) put on another dominating display to win the Under 14 boys’ race, his 5th win from 5. Caleb McGreevy (Apollo Cycling Team) finished second with James Armstrong (Dromara Cycling Club) third. In the girls’ race, Emer Heverin (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club) got her 4th win of the series after she crossed the line ahead of Cara Suckling (VC Glendale) with Maeve McCool (Square Wheels) finishing third.

Under 14 boys podium
Under 16 boys podium

The Under 16 boys’ race was an exciting affair that ended with a sprint finish between Seth Dunwoody (Shelbourne/Orchard CC) and fellow club mate Samuel Coleman. Set just narrowly got the win ahead of Samuel making it his 3rd of the series. Conor Murphy (Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club) finished in third place with Harry Hobbs (VC Glendale) finishing fourth. In the Under 16 girls’ race Aine Doherty (VC Glendale) had to work hard to keep ahead of Aliyah Rafferty (Island Wheelers) which is how it finished. Lucy Brown (Phoenix CC) took third with Aoibhinn Sharkey (VC Glendale) fourth.

In the Women’s race series leader Judith Russell (Phoenix CC) got her 4th win of the series. Maria McAllister (TC Racing) finished second with Helen McParland (Phoenix CC) third. First, the unplaced Master Woman was Caroline Martinez (Chain Reaction Cycles).

Women’s podium

The next race was the Men’s Cyclo-cross A’ race. This was a hotly contested affair over 8 laps with the lead changing between Darnell Moore (Team Caldwell Cycles) and Dean and Lee Harvey (VC Glendale). At the finish, it was Darnell who crossed the line victoriously with Dean Harvey second and Darragh McCarter (Spellman-Dublin Port). Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club) finished fourth with Lee Harvey fifth (taking the first unplaced Espoir prize) and series leader Alan Bingham (Newry Wheelers CC) finishing sixth (and taking the first unplaced M40 prize). First unplaced Junior was Travis Harkness (VC Glendale) with first unplaced M50 going to Des Woods (Newry Wheelers CC). Newry Wheelers may have won the team prize at Round 2 and Round 4 but it was VC Glendale who won the team prize at Round 5.

Men’s podium with unplaced masters, Espoir and junior (Darragh Mc Carter missing 3rd)

The final race of the day was the Men’s Cyclo-cross B’ race. This was held over 6 laps. Early leader Sean Scullion from the host club was scuppered by a flat tire. James Wilson (Apollo Cycling Team) took over the lead and held it to the line. Gary McClune (Team Madigan C.C.) finished second with Ian Weir (West Down Wheelers) third. These three are now obliged to race in the A’ race for the final round of the series. Jonathan Dooey (Dunloy CC) finished fourth with Paul Smith (Portadown Cycling Club) fifth and Glen Curry (Ards CC) sixth.

B-race podium
Doctor on wheels…Dr. Fred MacSorley, a gentleman and good friend

A huge thanks to all the helpers from Island Wheelers for putting on an excellent event. Thanks to Mid Ulster District Council and to the sponsors. Thanks to The Belgian Project for commentary and photos. Thanks to all the riders and spectators for coming along to support the event. The final round of the series takes place on Sunday 28 November 2021 at a new venue in West Belfast hosted by VC Glendale. Details are on

The report above was of Martin Grimley with enormous thanks from us, action photos from David Mc Veigh very soon online…I will add the Flickr cloud link when received

A Belgian “theme” in Dungannon… More photos can be seen on
Without this man above (Martin Grimley) the Cyclo-Cross in Ireland would be very much poorer…here are the full results courtesy of Martin and his time team

A very much well done to Island Wheelers and the team of volunteers….and thanks for the donation towards the project…it is appreciated