One of my last road races of the season was spent in a place called Portadown and trying to find the sign-on was a bit of a chore as I had to “re-route” a bit to eventually find the place. I was surprised to see so many entries as with the Nationals (A3 +Masters) held in Gorey and being the end of the season you would think nrs would be down. A full field of A3’s and about 40 in the supporting A4 race must have pleased the promoting club Keevan CC as it is a gamble so late in the season to get the numbers! They came from Sligo, Cavan, Donegal, Dublin and all corners of Ulster to compete on a fast 15km circuit, with a few drags in it but basically flat. The wind was more of an enemy to the riders and some strong headwinds greeted them welcome. The A3 race (including juniors) send-off first and they had 6 laps to deal with, and at the end of lap 2 Sean Lenehan (Navan RC) and Matthew Devins (Yeats Country) both juniors got away from the bunch and a 40-second gap was maintained for the remainder of the race, the lads worked well together and behind them a group of 4 chasers established themselves, they took a bit of time of the gap but never really threatened the front riders. In the 5th lap Sean Lenehan had to let Matthew go, he is in great form lately, not long back from the Tour de DZM in Korea and last week second in the Charleville 2 day, the writing was on the wall and not surprised as Matthew already had a spell in Belgium this summer as a graduate of the Belgian Project, and days like today makes what I do worthwhile seeing such performances when they return back in the land. Keevan CC is one of the smallest clubs in the Ulster Region but with the help of neighbouring clubs and their loyal volunteers pulled off “a job well done”

The attacks from the word go in the A3 race

The A4 race stayed basically together with a few attacks who came to nothing and Luke Ginnell from Scott-Orwell Wheelers Dublin won with a few bike lengths the dash to the line.

A4 Race Result
1 Luke Ginnell Scott Orwell
2 John Paul Conlon Emyvale CC
3 Padraic O’Brien Breffni Wheelers
4 Adrian King Bann Wheelers
5 Mark O’Neill Armagh Down
6 Jonathan Hayes Portadown CC
7 Alan Allman Redmond Scott Orwell
8 Fergal McCabe Oldcastle CC
9 Paul Stamp Armagh Down
10 Philip Neil Keevan Cycling Club

1 Ciara Havern Newry Wheelers
2 Roisin Mc Lornan Newry Wheelers

Amazing girls and always in good form
A3 & Junior Race
1 Matthew Devins Yeats Country CC
2 Ryan Geraghty Bikeworx Celbridge
3 Phillip Graham Unattached
4 Jonny Kelly Annagh Wheelers
5 Barry Greer Kinning Cycles
6 Ramunas Meskauskas Bohermeen CC
7 Sean Buckley Collins Cycle Centre
8 Sean Lenehan Navan Road Club
9 Conor Bradley Spires CC
10 Mark Short Phoenix CC

First women
Yvonne Doran Scott-Orwell Wheelers
The panel of commissaires with Sharon Mc Farland member of Keevan CC and well-known cycling photographer
More photo’s I took today on link below
Thanks for the hospitality and welcome received today…for such small club big hearts
Well done Keevan CC
New cycling fans have been seen on the route …
See you all in the morning hopefully at the CX in Orangefield (Brian Kinning GP)