Magic photos from Brendan Slattery including feature, report and some extra photos courtesy off promoter Tralee Manor West BC

The A3 & Junior bunch started first with the A2 and A1 groups following at a minute gap each. The racing was hard from the gun and all groups had come together just before the first prime at Gleann Na Gealt. The prime was taken by Sonny Cahill of Newcastle West CC and the hotly contested Jackie O’Connor Trophy for first Tralee BC rider over the climb was taken by Ross Culloty showing good form having just returned from injury. On the descent towards Annascaul, there were several attacks but none of them materialised into a break at this stage.

As the bunch took the turn for Inch a torrential hail storm hit and 3 Kerry riders broke away from the main bunch: Cathal Moynihan (Tralee BC), John Brosnan (Killarney CC) and Tom Moriarty (O’Leary Stone Kanturk). Aided by the strong tailwind the trio worked well and the gap to the main bunch went out to around 30 seconds as they headed towards Boolteens. Meanwhile, the racing in the bunch was intense with several riders attacking and attempting to bridge across to the leaders. As the race headed towards Keel the 3 leaders were joined by 8 more riders and created what would be the decisive breakaway group for the remainder of the race. At the base of the Sliabh Mish climb with around 10k to go, Stephen Gilman of O’Leary Stone Kanturk attacked and got a gap with about half of the breakaway riders. Gilman took the prime and the Teddy Griffin trophy at the top of Sliabh Mish and a ferocious descent began to the finish line in Tralee. Hard work by the chasers saw the 2 groups come together with about 1.5km to go. In a very competitive final 500 meters the sprint was taken by Matthew Sparrow of Dan Morrissey MIG Pactimo followed by his teammate Conor Hennebry, last years winner Conor Kissane of Killarney CC rounded out the podium.

MAIN RACE (Handicap A1-A2-A3 & Juniors)
1.Mathew Sparrow Dan Morrisey MIG Pactimo
2.Conor Hennebry Dan Morrisey MIG Pactimo
3.Conor Kissane Killarney CC
4.Cathal Moynihan Tralee Manor West BC
5.Mark Shannon Burren CC
6.Tom Moriarty O’Leary Stone Kanturk
7.Stephen Gillman O’Leary Stone Kanturk
8.Paul Kennedy Spellman Dublin Port
9.Colm Sheahan Blarney CC
10.Liam Crowley. O’Leary Stone Kanturk

First Lady Prize: Agnieszka Wozniak Strata Velo Revolution

The A4 supporting race

1.Eoin Buckley Nenagh CC
2.Daithi Creedon Tralee Manor West BC
3.Shane Spellman Killarney CC
4.Matt Moloney Chain Gang CC
5.Stephen Reidy Tralee Manor West BC
6.Vinny O’Leary Tralee Manor West BC
7.Padraig O’Flynn Quanta Scott Orwell
8.Patrick Sweeney Newcastle West CC
First Lady: Autumn Collins UNATTACHED