Photos in collage and feature courtesy of Sharon Mc Farland

Emyvale’s Marc Andrews reports: “Once again over 50 riders from over 20 clubs tested their mettle on the hilly Tydavnet course. The weather has fortunately been very cooperative so far. Thursday evening conditions were warm and dry, though the riders did have to contend with an unexpected cross headwind again on the outward-uphill leg of the course. Despite this challenge, many riders posted personal bests. Further evidence of repeat competitors learning the secrets of the rolling Parcours. Thanks once again to the entrants, but especially to marshals and the Tydavnet community, without whom these events could not be hosted. The challenge of social distancing in the current Covid-19 situation has presented the event with extra hurdles, but attendees have been respecting the guidelines and we have still managed to achieve a safe and enjoyable race day atmosphere. See you next week for round 4. There are only 3 rounds remaining and the feedback so far has been overwhelmingly positive, so we are keen to see everyone out competing. Please let your clubs and friends know that the remaining events can still be entered individually for a small fee on Eventbrite. In addition to the attached results, you will find a selection of photos from the wonderful Sharon McFarland. Over 100 images of round 3 are available on Sharon’s Facebook page:

Donegal Bay CC’s Summer League Rd 3 (25 Mile TT)

Ballymoney’s George Peden records a 25 miles TT in 49.33 !! (Photo courtesy of Fotozone Armagh’s Jerome Rafferty)

Donegal Bay CC’s Carl Fullerton reports: “Another night of records at the DBCC Club League, this time on the 25 Mile TT Course with young George Peden(Prologue) returning to deliver another superb performance, breaking the 50-minute barrier with a time of 49.33. Again, this must be one of the fastest ever 25 times in Donegal cycling history. Well done to George on smashing another record. Another renowned Tester Marcus Christie came home second in a time of 50.32 with Darragh McCarter(Spellman) 3rd with 54.43. Some great times with the first eight all under the hour mark and it was far from a perfect night for a Time Trial. Our thanks to everyone for coming, another great turn-out of 37. As always thanks to the Marshals, timekeepers, etc.”

1 George Peden Prologue 49.33
2 Marcus Christie U/A Ulster 50.32
3 Darragh McCarter Spellman 54.43
4 Michael McGlynn Caldwell 56.16
5 Roger Brown Roe Valley M40 57.53
6 Conor Sprice Lakeland M40 59.08
7 Aaron Quinn Finn Wheelers JR 59.33
8 Peter McGee Tir Chonaill GAP M40 59.44
9 Caolem McCarter Donegal Bay 60.26
10 Ardal McDermott Four Masters M40 61.19
11 Colm Richardson Errigal M40 61.30
12 Kevin McCrossan Four Masters M60 61.38
13 Keane Ryan Four Masters 61.44
14 Ted McCaffrey Donegal Bay 62.44
15 Jamie Meehan Tir Chonaill GAP JR 63.08
16 Jonathan Costello Donegal Bay M40 63.44
17 Eamon Toland Strabane/Lifford M60 64.28
18 Danny Ryan Unatt M40 65.08
19 Tommy Doherty Donegal Bay M50 66.40
20 Luke Cape Blanch Wheelers 66.46
21 Roger McCauley Donegal Bay M50 67.02
22 Joseph Owens Caldwell JR 67.47
23 Michael Doherty Four Masters M40 68.01
24 Eunan Quinn Finn Wheelers M40 68.18
25 Greg McHugh Donegal Bay M40 68.23
26 Adrian Crawford Finn Wheelers M50 68.32
27 Michael McNulty Four Masters M50 69.49
28 Alan Breslin Tir Chonaill GAP M40 69.55
29 Carl Fullerton Donegal Bay M70 71.04
30 Killian Tully Donegal Bay M40 71.12
31 Barry Nesbitt Tir Chonaill GAP M40 73.06
32 Bill Nesbitt Donegal Bay M50 73.41
33 Tom Dunleavy Donegal Bay M50 74.41
34 WJ Gallagher Donegal Bay M60 75.24
35 Terry Burns Finn Wheelers M70 78.3
36 Sean McGrory Donegal Bay M50 78.5 – 37 John Bradley Donegal Bay M50 84.20
38 Ed Wiazewicz Donegal Bay M50 87.26

DBCC Masters League Standings
(After 3 Rounds)

1. Jonathan Costello M40 60
2. Tommy Doherty M50 56
3. Greg McHugh M40 54
4. Carl Fullerton M70 47 (photo left of Carl courtesy David mc Veigh BP Media))
5. Aiden McAleer M50 43
6. Bill Nesbitt M50 37
7. Willie John Gallagher M60
= Roger McCauley M50 36
9. Sean McGrory M50 33
10. John Bradley M50 32
11. Killian Tully M40 30
12. Ed Wiazewicz M50 29
13. Terry McIntyre M70 28
14. Tom Dunleavy M50 27
15. Paul Gillespie M50 23
16. Eugene Murray M40 22