Daire gets the better of Charlie this time! (Feature collage pictures and photo above courtesy of Donal Kelly)

Mick Ruane from the promoting club Galway Bay CC reports“Daire Feeley proved best in the Athenry GP held in horrible wet conditions but despite the weather, over 90 riders took to the start line in the first open race of the restarted season. The race was run over 4 laps of a rolling 15k circuit with the A4s getting a five-minute handicap and the A3s 2 minutes 30 seconds on the A1/2 bunch. Conor Gath from the host club, Galway Bay CC rode clear of the A4 group and won the primes on the 1st and 2nd lap before being swallowed up by the charging bunch. The race all came together on the third lap.  There was a lot of attacking but nothing was sticking until seven riders pulled clear with four k to go. In the break was, and in form Daire Feeley, Charlie Prendergast, Richard Meaney, Conn McDunphy, John Priest, and GBCC club mates Eoghan McArdle Ruane and Feidhlim Dignan. In the sprint to the line Daire won comfortably from Charlie Prendergast, followed by Richard Meaney, Conn McDunphy with Feidhlim Dignan 5th, Eoghan McArdle Ruane 6th and John Priest 7th. Richard Maes led in the bunch a few seconds behind with Eugene Murtagh 9th and Simon Kelly 10th. The first woman home was Caoimhe O’Brien and Christopher Donald was first unplaced junior”

The winning team with Mark Quigley, Richard Maes and the victor Daire Feeley (photo social media Daire)

RESULTS (Courtesy of GBCC)
1st Daire Feeley, Strata 3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
2nd Charlie Prendergast, Team Dan Morrisey McCarthy Insurance Group Pactimo
3rd Richard Meaney, Covey Wheelers
4th Conn Mc Dunphy, CC Nogent Oise
5th Feidhlim Dignan, Galway Bay Cycling Club
6th Eoghan McArdle Ruane, Galway Bay Cycling Club
7th John Priest, Lucan Road Cycling Club
8th Richard Maes, Strata 3/VeloRevolution Racing Team
9th Eugene Murtagh, Lucan Road Cycling Club
10th Simon Kelly, Burren Cycling Club

Unplaced Prizes
1st Unplaced Woman: Caoimhe O’Brien, Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure (photo left Damien O’Brien)
1st Unplaced Junior: Christopher Donald, Team Madigan Cycling Club
1st Unplaced A4 Conor Gath, Galway Bay Cycling Club
1st Unplaced A3, Nathan Kurensky, Black Rose
1st Unplaced A2, Eugene Murtagh, Lucan RC

1st lap Conor Gath, Galway Bay Cycling Club
2nd lap Conor Gath, Galway Bay Cycling Club
3rd lap Richard Maes, Strata 3/VeloRevolution Racing Team