At least the CI National Series got his first round out of the way and we see the best of Ireland competing together again after such a long wait…It was held on last year’s circuit of the National road races in the sleepy village of Knockaderry in County Limerick and promoted by Newcastle West Wheelers. The ladies’ race was part of the morning procedures and schedule…this to prevent overcrowding and to adhere to the current Covid rules with starting different pods and different times with a healthy separation of start times…It works fine and doesn’t take away the buzz around the event…well worthed the long drive even my back kills me now, but hey … their legs must hurt more in such a demanding race …The girls stayed together with numerous attack’s been hauled back before they could be a danger …Eve Mc Crystal just too strong to most of the bunch half her age…her sprint is calculated and lethal… well-deserved win!! (Part 2 of the A3 & A4 race’s later this morning with the afternoon races in Part 3 tonight)

Eve just to strong and in blazing form after her silver as pilot at the Para-Worlds Champs in Portugal 8 days ago
Megan Armitage trying to get away, too no avail …they stayed together and it became a sprint to the line

Women’s Elite 3 laps (61.5km)
1. Eve McCrystal Bellurgan Wheelers
2. Caoimhe O’Brien Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure (U23)
3. Megan Armitage UCD CC
4. Jemma Speers North Down CC
5. Autumn Collins AWOL OSHEA – Road/Spellman Dublin Port – Track
6. Becky Woods All human/VeloRevolution Racing Team
7. Darcey Harkness VC Glendale Youth Academy
8. Kate Earlie St Tiernans CC
9. Carthach McCarthy Blarney CC
10. Shannen Ryan Greenmount CA
11. Jennifer Bates Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure
12. Catherine Mahoney UCD CC
13. Emma Smith Deeside Thistle
14. Elizabeth Kent Arcane CT
15. Aoife Kelly Greenmount CA
16. Sharon Kennedy Greenmount CA
17. Jane Cullen Panduit Carrick Wheelers
18. Claire O’Sullivan Nenagh CC
19. Alison Higgins Four Masters CC

Women’s Junior Race (61.5km)
1. Erin Grace Creighton McConvey Cycles (3rd overall in the combined race)
2. Caoimhe May Orwell Wheelers CC
3. Aoife O’Brien Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure
4. Annie Roche Nantes Doulon Velo Sport

More photo’s can be found on the first report of the racing in Knockaderry on
Junior women’s series leader Erin Grace Creighton (Mc Convey Cycles Belfast)
Eve Mc Crystal talking to Liam Collins (Newcastle West Wheelers) the race director (missed the jersey presentation a bit earlier)