Photos David Mc Veigh & Tony Mairs of the BP Media, report and results from Martin Grimley (chief comm)

Photo Tony Mairs (BP Media)

Phoenix Cycling Club hosted their annual cyclo-cross race at Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park in Belfast on Sunday 26 September 2021. Riders, supporters, and volunteers were greeted to a warm autumn day which stayed dry for almost the whole event. The club had gone all out again this year building another scaffold bridge just behind the registration gazebo. This was used for the Under 14s, Under 16s, and Senior races. The youth courses for the Under 6s to the Under 12s were held close to the registration area in a twisting course among the trees. All riders then headed out onto the tarmac road to complete their laps. Thanks to Belfast City Council for the use of the park.

Racing began at 10 am with the Under 6s. The 8 young riders had 2 laps of the short course to complete. Next up were the Under 8s who had to complete 4 laps of the same course. Benjamin Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) had an impressive win in the boys’ race to match his win the previous week at the GP Brian Kinning race. Benjamin finishing ahead of Jackson Coakley (Powerhouse Sport) with Noah Mitchell (Square Wheels) third. Fiadh Craig (VC Glendale) took the chequered flag in the girls’ race ahead of Sophia Campbell (Un-Attached Ulster) with Ríonach Campbell (Square Wheels) third. The Under 10s course was an extended version of the Under 8s and they had 5 laps to complete. The top 3 in the Under 10 boys’ race was the same as last week, Daragh Quigley (Foyle CC) first, Jack McGahan (Square Wheels) second, and Ewan Ewart (Belfast City BMX Club) third. Aoife Campbell (Square Wheels) repeated her win from last week in the girls’ race. Emily McClintock (Lisburn BMX Club) was second with Ruby Daly (Un-Attached Ulster) third.

The Under 12s used the same course as the Under 10s but they had 8 laps to complete. Last week’s winner Josh McClune (Team Madigan C.C.) was leading for the first 4 laps until a mechanical issue dropped him back to third. Eunan Campbell (Square Wheels) and James Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) sprinted for the win with Eunan just keeping ahead of James to finish 1st and 2nd. In the girls’ race Aoife Craig (VC Glendale) had an impressive win finishing over a minute ahead of Clodagh Quigley (Foyle CC) with Yvaine Parsons (Un-Attached Ulster) taking third.

The next races used the full course, including the scaffold bridge. Lined up were the Under 16 boys, Under 14 boys and the B race men. The U14 and U16s had 5 laps to complete with the B’ race riders doing 7 laps. Curtis McKee (VC Glendale) repeated his win from last week in the Under 14 boys race with another dominant effort to finish well clear of Ryan Daly (Scott Quanta Racing) with Caleb McGreevy (Apollo Cycling Team) third. In the Under 16 boys race the podium was filled with riders from Shelbourne/Orchard CC with Samuel Coleman taking the top step, Seth Dunwoody second and Daniel Scott third. In the Men’s B’ race, the top 3 riders were playing a tactical game each lap as they rode together. Racing between them only seemed to happen on the final lap with Colm O’Byrne (IVCA Cycling Club) taking the win ahead of Eoghan McGuigan (Un-Attached Ulster) with Scott Maitland (Killinchy Cycling Club) third. Barry Russell (Carn Wheelers) was fourth with Sean McCourt (VC Glendale) fifth and John Lord (Breffni Wheelers) sixth.

The next race was an all female affair with the Cyclo-cross Women’s race, the Under 16 girls and the Under 14 girls. Emer Heverin (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club) repeated her win from last week in the 4 lap Under 14 girls’ race finishing ahead of Cara Suckling (VC Glendale) with Elisa Sunderland (Lisburn BMX Club) third. Aine Doherty (VC Glendale) was away last week at the British National Trophy race, where she finished 3rd out of 55 finishers, and returned to these shores to take the win in the 5 lap Under 16 girls’ race. Aliyah Rafferty (Island Wheelers) finished second with Greta Lawless (Team WORC) third. The Women’s cyclocross race was held over 6 laps and was comfortably won by Ciara Macmanus (Un-Attached Ulster). Stephanie Roche (Scott Quanta Racing) finished second with Judith Russell (Phoenix CC) third and Niamh Stephens (Team Giant Dublin) fourth. Katie Reilly (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) was fifth, first unplaced Junior, Helen White (Stamullen RC) was sixth, first unplaced Master.

Photo Tony Mairs of Judith Russell (3rd yesterday and first last week)
Darragh Mc Carter chasing back after a mechanical in lap 1 and managed still the 3rd place!! (Photo Tony Mairs)

The final race of the day was the Cyclo-cross Men’s A’ race. This was held over 9 laps. There was a great battle at the front of the race between David Montgomery (Dromara Cycling Club) and Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club). David proved the stronger and managed to pull away from Glenn to take the win. Glenn had to settle for second place keeping ahead of last week’s winner Darragh McCarter (Spellman-Dublin Port). Alan Bingham (Newry Wheelers CC) was fourth and took the first unplaced M40 prize. Travis Harkness (VC Glendale) was fifth and took the first unplaced Junior prize with the first unplaced M50 going to Jason Henry (Inspired Cycling).

A huge thank you to Johnny Bogues and Stephen Moffitt for leading the organisation of this race and to the army of volunteers from Phoenix Cycling Club who gave their time to help make it a success. Next week is the start of the Ulster Cyclo-cross series with Killinchy Cycling Club hosting their race at a new venue, Florida Manor. Details can be found on Commissaires: Jim Adams and yours truly, Martin GrimleyResults just click

A well done to the organisers Phoenix CC ….they hit the nail on the head (missing our photographer Tony Mairs with an inch…lol)
Info and entry link on
Thank you Martin for the info and results so swiftly available