Results courtesy of Roe Valley’s time team, photos Jerry Rafferty (Fotozone Armagh) and Dany BP Media as indicated

Oh, Danny Boy…Roe Valley CC was calling…The 2022 Danny Boy Races at Feeny (South -Derry) was raced in pleasant sunshine, a full capacity of riders (a bit of hope in troubled times with lack of entries lately) 80 in the A2-3-Junior-Masters Race with the A4 race about 50 riders (biggest I have seen this year in that category) A long drag of 3km to the finish line made it very hard, especially when you have to do it 5 times, or 4 times as an A4…the 12-mile circuit was also a very undulating one, at the foot of the Sperrin Mountains. Both races ended as an uphill sprint, with Conor Dooney (Foyle CC) as the victor in the A4 race, Ciara Havern (Newry Wheelers) first woman, and U23 international track star Chris Donald (Spellman-Dublin Port) taking the main event. Done the MC job for the second time in a row, remembering it well, last year’s visit as on the way home my clutch went…this time we got home with all the parts in good order…my wee workhorse in fine tune today.

Kieran Mc Namara of Ards CC (Photo BP Media) More photos of the BP Media on

Also proud uncle of Ards CC’s Kieran Mc Namara, 37-year old MTB’er, and finished his first-ever road race. And great news from one of my sponsors you all know…The Shoe Doctor, Shea Gribbon is designing a pair of cycling shoes for the Belgian Project in the coming weeks…it will be raffled or auctioned in support of the project…looking forward to what this Maghera design artist will come up with! Well if it is good enough for Cavendish, it certainly will be good enough for me!! Also thanks to Roe Valley and their volunteers for a perfectly executed race in all aspects, and thanks to the club for the donation towards the project.. see you all next week at the West Down Wheelers GP on Saturday, and the 2022 Sean Nolan Meath GP on Sunday (Round 3 of the national series)

Photo BP media

A2/3+Masters 60 miles
? Christopher Donald Spellman-Dublin Port
? Alan Bingham Newry Wheelers
? John Morton Harps CC
4th Stuart McCaughey Phoenix CC
5th Matthew Jones Dublin Wheelers
6th Des Woods Newry Wheelers
7th Jamie Philips All Human VeloRevolution
8th Drew McKinley Newry Wheelers
9th Sean Og Harrigan Foyle CC
10th Curtis Neil Carn Wheelers
1st Master – Des Woods Newry Wheelers
1st Junior – Curtis Neil Carn Wheelers
1st Roe Valley – Samuel Carmichael

A4 & Ladies and Masters
? Conor Dooney Foyle CC
? Eoghan McGuigan Un-attached Ulster
? Dermot McCabe Island Wheelers
4th Garth McGimpsey Phoenix CC
5th Declan Rodgers Glens CC
6th Sean O’Hara Roe Valley CC
7th Stevie Stranney Crossgar CC
8th PJ McErlean Carn Wheelers
9th Michael Anderson Roe Valley CC
10th Peter McGee Tir Chonnail Gap CC
1st Roe Valley – Sean O’Hara
1st Master – Dermot McCabe Island Wheelers
1st Lady – Ciara Havern Newry Wheelers
(photo below left)

Some crackers of photos from Jerry on credit Jerry and no commercial use allowed without prior agreement, please