Photos in report courtesy of David Mc Veigh and Dany B (BP Media) Results courtesy of Ards CC

(Photo David Mc Veigh BP Media) David’s photos can be found on our Flickr Cloud

Foreword Dany B: ” I had a wee conversation with Marcus, the winner and record holder of the renowned Champ of Champions TT, a soft-spoken gentleman who always has time for a chat with me, a lad who lives 100% for his sport and his TT. He is the fastest man in N-Ireland, he is the current Ernie Magwood Super 6 winner this year…Marcus smashed the course record last year (2021) in a time of 49m 25s!! , his time quicker than the former champion and world record holder Chris Boardman who held it for 27 years, breaking Obree’s record, and followed by George Peden who bettered Boardman’s time in 2020! He was 7th in the commonwealth games the last time around, and with his amazing results lately (and this for years) still didn’t get the chance of competing in Birmingham this time around?? Could anyone tell me why?? What else does Marcus need to do to get into the NI Team, 2 places came free in the last few weeks, surely this athlete deserves another go at it…That doesn’t mean that the team selected doesn’t deserve their call-up, but you can not argue he would have been an asset to the team…Marcus is devastated, but as a real champ he carries on winning what comes in front of him…a 50m 24s for a 25-mile TT is the proof in the pudding, even with the conditions not favorable yesterday, still a hell of a time to achieve… This is my thoughts on the matter, and don’t point any finger, just don’t understand the reasons for non-selection!!” yours in sport, Dany B

(Photo Dany B BP media)

The 2022 results >>

1st Marcus Christie Banbridge CC 50:24
2nd Paul Carroll Un-Attached Ulster 54:44
3rd Erwin McKee Banbridge CC 54:47
4th Ian Inglis Kinning Cycles 55:28
5th Stuart Millar Ards CC 55:49 10
6th Philip Loughlin Banbridge CC 57:57
7th Marc Allen Ards CC 58:58 7
8th David Ross Banbridge CC 59:24
9th Roger Brown Roe Valley CC 59:26
10th Kevin Briggs Ards CC 59:58 5
11th Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles 1:00:01
12th Barry Hayes Island Wheelers 1:01:04
13th Mark Kelly Inspired Cycling 1:01:08
14th Graeme McConnell Killinchy CC 1:01:39
15th David Moore Team Coffee Hut 1:01:47
16th Samuel Cunningham Ballymoney CC 1:02:44
17th Glen Curry Ards CC 1:03:20 3
18th Adrian Kerr Ballymena Road Club 1:05:31
19th Hazel Smyth Un-Attached Ulster 1:05:34 (ladies winner photo below)

(Photo David Mc Veigh BP media)

20th Michael Rowan Ards CC 1:06:01 2
21st Paul Hamilton Dromara Cycling Club 1:07:01
22nd Graeme Brown Ards CC 1:07:35 1
23rd Malcolm Bourke Un-Attached Ulster 1:08:23
24th Martin Duffy Banbridge CC 1:08:45
25th Richard Nicholl Banbridge CC 1:17:18
26th Ryan Fegan North Down CC 1:17:23
Nigel McCullough Banbridge CC DNF

Michael Rowan had his thumbs up (Photo David mc Veigh BP Media)

Banbridge CC colored Ards yellow yesterday… well-done lads!!
The time team at the finish line….more photos of Dany B can be found on